Yellow Tomato, Lemon and Basil Jam- WHB

September 9, 2006 at 1:43 am 11 comments

For Weekend Herb Blogging,
being hosted this week by Kalyn’s Kitchen herself,
I thought I would share this jam.

Being covered up in yellow tomatoes I had to
figure something to do with them.

I have several recipes that call for lemon marmalade,
so I thought I could substitute this jam I found in a old
Food and Wine magazine in any of those recipes.

The jam came out very good so if your covered in yellow
tomatoes and have a little basil, sugar and lemon your set to go.

I tripled the recipe. I had to have some just to keep in the
fridge for biscuits.

You could skip the water bath and just cap
it for the fridge if your only making the original amount.

I didn’t peel but did spot off any tough parts of the tomatoes.

It has the taste of lemon with just a hint of basil.

Yellow Tomato, Lemon and Basil Jam

2 each lemons
3 pounds tomato — yellow, chopped
3 cups sugar
1 tablespoon chopped basil — packed, finely chopped

Using a sharp knife peel lemons.
Discard the seeds and membrane leaving the sections.

Peel any tough skin or discolor from the tomatoes.

Combine the lemon sections with yellow tomato, sugar and basil in a
large pot.

Bring this to a boil and then lower the heat to moderate.
Cook stirring often about 40 minutes until thickened. Ladle out
foam on top of tomatoes as needed.

After about 40 minutes ladle mixture into sterile jars and process
10 minutes in a canner or hot water bath.

Source:
“Food and Wine – July 1994″
Yield:
“2 pints”

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

The Curse of the Yellow Tomato Call Me Driven

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sher  |  September 9, 2006 at 2:05 am

    I’ve been wanting to make tomato jam. Yours looks delicious. And on biscuits–yum!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Kalyn  |  September 9, 2006 at 8:25 am

    This sounds amazing. I don’t have that many yellow tomatoes, but why couldn’t I mix red and yellow ones? I love the idea of just a hint of basil in the jam.

    Reply
  • 3. Coffeepot  |  September 9, 2006 at 8:52 am

    Kalyn, I’m sure you could mix the two and the red would add acid levels to the jam.

    The jam depends on the lemon to add the acid.

    I’m not sure how the color would look though.

    Reply
  • 4. cooknkate  |  September 9, 2006 at 10:36 am

    I’ve never had tomato jam…..or onion marmalade or any strange and exotic spread, like figs. I think I may be slightly deprived

    Reply
  • 5. Jeff  |  September 10, 2006 at 10:44 pm

    How long would this last for?

    Reply
  • 6. coffeepot  |  September 10, 2006 at 11:41 pm

    Hey Jeff,
    If you can them right ( sterile,sealed ) and keep them in a cool, dry and dark area they should keep about a year.

    If your just going to put them in the refrigerator I would think about the same as a freshly opened jar of jam.

    Reply
  • 7. Pookah  |  September 11, 2006 at 12:09 am

    Coffeepot,

    It looks wonderful. I assume the addition of sugar makes it ‘jam’. several of my yellow tomatoes grew beeter than the reds and pinks but I didn’t get enough to make that much with. Maybe next year will be a better tomato year! keep it up!

    P

    Reply
  • 8. gattina  |  September 11, 2006 at 6:58 am

    The jam’s color is great! Oh I can imagine how great taste it is!

    Reply
  • 9. maura  |  September 13, 2006 at 3:27 pm

    Aaaah- this sounds delicious!

    Reply
  • 10. Glenna  |  September 14, 2006 at 9:28 am

    Wow! I am very impressed. That is so intriguing. I’d definitely pull up a crusty bread and a knife and give it a whirl.

    Reply
  • 11. Chris  |  September 24, 2006 at 9:42 pm

    Looks very good. I will have to try and make it sometime. Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 214,712 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

