Cilantro- Weekend Herb Blogging

September 21, 2006 at 7:01 pm 7 comments

Weekend Herb Blogging is back at Kalyn’s Kitchen this week. Check out her site for more WHB!

Cilantro is a member of the parsley family but has no resemblance to the parsley taste.
Even the seeds from the cilantro plant taste nothing like the green from the plant.

The seed from the plant is called coriander. Coriander is sweet while the leaf of the plant tastes a bit pungent
in my opinion, and takes some getting used to.

The seed is mentioned in the Bible, speaking of the provision of manna provided
Israel in the wilderness.
Exo 16:31 And the house of Israel called the name thereof Manna:
and it
was like coriander seed, white;
and the taste of it
was like wafers made with honey.

To learn more about cilantro you can go to this link -
Cilantro Link

I have never attempted to grow cilantro (yet) but I do grow tomato,
and I think there is nothing in the world to compare
to the beauty and convenience of Pico De Gallo.
While it is simple, the taste is also beyond description.
I used a combination of red and yellow tomato and white onion in place of the red in this WW recipe.

Pico De Gallo- Weight Watcher Recipe

3 tomatoes — chopped
1 green bell pepper — seeded and diced
1/4 red onion — chopped
1 tablespoon minced cilantro
2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
1 jalapeño pepper — seeded, chopped
= (wear gloves to prevent irritation)
1/4 teaspoon salt

In a medium nonreactive bowl, combine the tomatoes, bell pepper, onion, cilantro, lime juice, jalapeño and salt. Refrigerate, covered, until ready to serve, at least 1 hour.

This recipe yields 6 servings.

Comments: Literally meaning “rooster’s beak,” this is a hot, sharp salsa. Serve it as a dip with baked corn chips, as a topping for baked potatoes or on the side with grilled chicken, etc..

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

Search for Foxgrapes Supper-Lemon Spaghetti with Chicken, Desert- Clafouti

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kalyn  |  September 21, 2006 at 8:06 pm

    Yum. I love cilantro. For me it’s been very hard to grow. First of all, the snails eat it down to the very ground. If you can handle that problem, in Utah it goes to seed very quickly. So I just have to buy it.

    I have everything to make this but the cilantro, so I better get some. Great photos!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jeff  |  September 22, 2006 at 9:29 am

    I dig the “Devil Weed” as well…adds a great flavor! Nice new template btw.

    Reply
  • 3. coffeepot  |  September 22, 2006 at 11:29 am

    Thanks Jeff but I just came back to find my old template still intact! What has happened? duh ..I didn’t change it back.

    Reply
  • 4. mamagazelle  |  September 23, 2006 at 7:24 pm

    I love coriander too and it grows great here in western SC….except……only in cooler weather; early spring and fall-it’s coming back now. So that means, unfortunately, that it’s not in high production at the same time as tomatoes and peppers.
    I started mine years ago with some seeds from a grocery store spice rack and I let some go to seed and they come back from the dropped seeds every year in the spring and fall. I just make and can my salsa during high summer and add in the fresh cilantro when I open the jars.

    Reply
  • 5. Kalyn  |  September 24, 2006 at 2:52 pm

    Hey, new template from when I first saw this. Looks great. Maybe I didn’t refresh the first time?

    Reply
  • 6. Sher  |  September 26, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    Oh my gosh!! I’ve been so busy I haven’t been able to visit my favorite blogs–so I come here and your site looks so fabulous!!!

    Oh, and I love cilantro too! :):)

    Reply
  • 7. Weight Loss Pills  |  May 28, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Weight Loss Reviews. Hoodia effortlessly reduce their caloric intake by 7000 calories each week. Visit: http://www.healthshop.tv

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 213,300 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

