Smoked Sausage and White Bean Soup- WHB

February 27, 2007 at 9:11 am 16 comments

Weekend Herb Blogging is back at founder Kalyn’s Kitchen this week.

I have, and still am learning so much from participating in WHB.
I try to read every entry as my contrary computer allows.

This week I want to share my favorite soup and feel it is fitting because of parsley.

The taste of this soup reminds me of bean and bacon, but using the lower fat
turkey smoked sausages in place of bacon makes it more diet friendly.

After it is cooked you could process a couple of ladles in a blender if you wanted a thicker broth.
You could also brown the sausage in a little oil before proceeding if you don’t mind added calories.

Flat leaf parsley works and tastes best, but the store I shopped at sometimes only carries
curly this time of year…. Just to annoy me I am sure.

Na Na store…. I cook in spite of you.

Smoked Sausage and White Bean Soup

1 1/2 C dry Great Northern beans, sorted and pre-soaked
5 C chicken stock
2 large onion, chopped
2 carrots, diced
1/2 one green bell pepper, diced
1/2 pound smoked turkey sausage link ,chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 pint canned tomatoes with liquid
2 teaspoons salt ( or to taste)
hot sauce to taste
pepper to taste
1/4 C chopped fresh parsley

Place all ingredients, but the parsley, in a large soup kettle and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer
on medium heat until the beans are cooked through adding water if needed ( about 2 1/2 hours to 3 ).

Add the parsley right before serving.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

Waiter There’s Something In My…Pie! It’s Spring Almost!

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sher  |  February 27, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    It looks wonderful!! I love bean soup and I can imagine how good that tastes with the smokey sausage. Yum!

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa (Homesick Texan)  |  February 27, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    I hate to admit this because I’m such pork bacon fiend, but I’ve been getting into turkey bacon lately. I’m also a big fan of turkey sausage–much flavor without all the guilt!

    Reply
  • 3. coffeepot  |  February 27, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    Sher, it is really good.

    Lisa, I love bacon too but the turkey bacon is not bad. I think you just have to get used to the taste. It is kind of like skim milk. I used to never buy anything under 2 % but about 7 years ago I started making myself drink skim. Now I only like skim milk. I tried 2 % and it tastes too heavy to me. Go figure.

    Reply
  • 4. Kalyn  |  February 27, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    Great photo of the soup. It looks wonderful. This is just the kind of soup I love. I do like the turkey sausage quite a bit, but I have to admit when it comes to bacon, I’m likely to use real bacon and just put less. I like the crispiness of real bacon. (Please do not call the South Beach Diet police.)

    Also, I love curly parsley. I remember when I first noticed that all the cookbooks claimed that flat parsley has better flavor. The flat parsley is fine (I have both in my garden) but I think curly parsley tastes great too. In some dishes (like Tabbouli) I prefer the curly type.

    Reply
  • 5. Chris  |  February 27, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    This soup looks so satisfying! I love white beans, yet haven’t tried turkey sausage yet – I am going to have to get on that!

    Reply
  • 6. coffeepot  |  February 28, 2007 at 4:43 am

    Hey Kalyn and Chris.

    SBD police are just around the corner! I like curly too Kalyn but just prefer flat. I can’t get either to grow very well ( at least not yet) I hope next season will be better for my parsley.

    Chris the sausage is easier to get used to than the turkey bacon, like Kalyn has found.

    Reply
  • 7. Freya  |  February 28, 2007 at 8:59 am

    That looks so good! I used a recipe for the same soup once from an old issue of Gourmet but I didn’t soak the beans long enough and got a bit sick….I’d still give it another go though!

    Reply
  • 8. kevin  |  February 28, 2007 at 10:30 am

    I’m gonna have to try this one. And, because fair is fair, here’s one for you: http://seriouslygood.kdweeks.com/2005/04/cannellini-beans.html

    Reply
  • 9. Glenna  |  February 28, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Yummy! I love white bean soup and yours looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 10. Susan from Food "Blogga"  |  March 1, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Great photo! This soup looks so warm and soothing!

    Reply
  • 11. gattina  |  March 3, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Sue, I like both parsleys! Your soup is really beautiful! I’ll make a BIG pot of this and share with my mother-in-law next time!

    Reply
  • 12. maura  |  March 4, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    oooh, I love this!

    Reply
  • 13. Terry B  |  March 5, 2007 at 12:07 am

    Beautiful photo—and the soup sounds delicious. You mentioned browning the sausage beforehand. I think sautéing the onions, carrots and green pepper along with it [but not letting them brown] might boost their flavor as well.

    Reply
  • 14. Pookah  |  March 6, 2007 at 9:02 am

    looks great and makes me want to whip up some bean soup. I happen to have some spicy chicken Thai sausage that might be good….

    interesting, your notes about milk. my honey went on skim in 1993 and recently converted to organic 1% and really likes it.

    Reply
  • 15. Katie  |  March 8, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Sausages, white beans and tomatoes are absolutely made for each other – great soup!

    Reply
  • 16. Lisa  |  March 17, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    That looks so delish. I adore beans. And sausage. And parsley. So what’s not to like?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 213,314 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

