Summer Squash Parmesan

July 12, 2007 at 7:27 pm 7 comments

I love Eggplant Parmesan but have never been able to grow
eggplant.

I decided to try this and substitute a couple of large summer squash.

It came out so yummy!

Eggplant Parmesan (or summer squash..my take)

Olive Oil — for frying
1 medium eggplant — (unpeeled)( I used summer squash)
2 eggs — slightly beaten ( I used one)
2 tablespoons cold water
1 1/2 cups fine dry breadcrumbs with dried italian herbs
2 1/2 cups your favorite italian sauce –
(I used my homemade italian sausage meat sauce I keep frozen
for emergency)
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese — OR ( I added 1/2 before baking and 1/2 after)
grated Romano cheese
12 ounces sliced Mozzarella cheese ( I left this off)

Preheat oven to 375 F. Pour small amount of oil in a large skillet.

Cut eggplant into 15 slices about 1/4″ thick; set aside.

In a shallow dish or pie plate, beat eggs and water to combine;
set aside.
Pour breadcrumbs into another shallow dish or pie plate.
Dip eggplant into egg mixture, then into breadcrumbs.

Brown eggplant slices in hot oil, turning once, until tender
when pierced with a fork. Add more oil, if needed.

Butter a 2-qt casserole dish. ( I used individual dishes)

Arrange 5 eggplant slices over
bottom of dish, overlapping if necessary.

Top with about 1/3
of the Italian-Style Meat Mix, 1/3 of the grated cheese and 1/3
of the Mozzarella slices I left off the mozzerella).

Repeat, making 2 more layers.

Bake uncovered 30 to 40 minutes.
Makes 6 servings.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

Dill Chips Lemon Mint Ice Tea- WHB

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katiez  |  July 13, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    I could do this! But with the squash. I’ve had no look with eggplant. Maybe I should try again…

    Reply
  • 2. Nanners  |  July 14, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Good call on the squash. I think anyone who has a garden (or has friends with gardens) is desperately looking for things to do with their squash this time of year!

    Reply
  • 3. Roasted Summer Squash Recipe with Lemon and Mint | Cooking Tips  |  September 16, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    [...] Squash from Tigers and StrawberriesSimple Baby PattyPan Squash with Blossoms from A Veggie VentureSummer Squash Parmesan from Coffee and CornbreadPesto Zucchini Tomato Gratin from Karina’s Kitchen – Recipes from a [...]

    Reply
  • 4. Joy  |  July 1, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I made this recipe this past weekend and it is wonderful. Couldn’t believe how “cheesy” it was with so little cheese. (I also left the motzarella off and didn’t miss it at all.) I’m following the WW plan and really have appreciated your more healthy recipes. I also made the Faux Mashed Potates and it was terrific also. Please keep those coming! I visit your website almost everyday from way down here in Georgia and always find that it improves my day.

    Reply
  • 5. coffeepot  |  July 1, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Thank you Joy I am glad you like and you gave me some joy today also.

    Reply
  • 6. Lori  |  August 11, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I also used summer squash and it was delicious, one egg was plenty.

    Reply
  • 7. Sue  |  August 18, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Yes isn’t it grand Lori?
    I love Eggplant but I just don’t have much luck growing it. I grew a little last summer but it didnt do well so this summer (2009) I didnt even try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 213,258 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

