SUCCESS!

August 9, 2007 at 12:13 pm 6 comments

A shot of my sunflowers blooming before I go into a monolog
of sourdough.

My sourdough adventure has taken me through highs and lows.

I decided I needed more coaching than I received at the first
bread site I used.

Their motto seemed to be, take a cup of flour and a cup
of warm water…. Go forth and multiply.

Maybe I exaggerate a bit.

After the Lurch failure I figured there had to be more to it.

After finding Wild Yeast Blog raising a starter link ,I realized failure was due to-

1- using water that was too warm plus
2- using a kitchen that was too cool

I fixed the water by using my insta-read and the cool kitchen
by shutting off a bedroom from the air conditioning and started Lurch II.

I had to lug the stuff up and down the stairs. To the kitchen to feed,
to the bedroom to grow. I felt a bit silly but my efforts paid off
along with the wonderful coaching at Wild Yeast Blog.

I didn’t have rye flour but Wild Yeast said they also had success
with wheat flour so that is what I used. I placed tape at the top
of each feed so I could see the progress.

After day one all was well

After day two all was well

After day three, just like coached, the cultured seemed dead.

It picked back up after day four and then on day five I started
feeding white flour only and left out the wheat.

This was when things slowly seemed to die again. There were bubbles
and foam but no growth for about 7 days.

I decided to experiment with the leftover feed and added the wheat back
into a separate container but left the original untainted after about
5 days.

The experiment not only doubled but tripled in 12 hours while the original
only grew to half its size, but I knew something must be up.

On the eighth day I was about to give up. The stuff was growing about
half its size each 12 hours. Suddenly after the 8th day AM feed I
checked and cheered SUCCESS! It had doubled in 4 hours!

I did begin to feel guilty about throwing out all that flour through
the process, but eventually found I could refrigerate it and use in tortillas,
waffles and even flavor regular baked bread and biscuits.

Now off I go into the field of real sourdough baking!

yeah

Entry filed under: food tips. Tags: .

Salsa To Order English Muffins and Baltimore

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Blue Zebra  |  August 9, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    congratulations Sue!!! You’re a mommy!!! Lurch2 lives. :D

    I want to give you 3 sites for reference. I love all of them! And can’t remember if I have given these to you before.

    http://www.thefreshloaf.com
    http://www.sourdoughhome.com
    http://sourdough.com.au/

    Have fun and happy baking!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Susan  |  August 9, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Great! I’m happy my posting of my starter experience was helpful. I’m looking forward to seeing the bread you make with yours!
    Susan (Wild Yeast)

    Reply
  • 3. Sue  |  August 9, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks for the links blue z I will have fun

    thanks so much for the info Susan. Your blog is great.

    Reply
  • 4. Blue Zebra  |  August 10, 2007 at 11:03 am

    Sue, btw, I meant to tell you this yesterday, your sunflower photo and the flower itself is stunning! Will you harvest the seeds from it when it’s ready and eat them?

    BZ

    Reply
  • 5. Katiez  |  August 10, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Congratulations on Lurch, II. You must be so proud.
    I’ve never tried making sourdough…. maybe this winter…

    Reply
  • 6. Caffienated Cowgirl  |  August 16, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    I am thoroughly enjoying the Lurch saga…congrats on Lurch 2!

    And what beautiful sunflowers…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 212,060 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

