Watermelon Salad with Feta, Pine Nuts and Basil-WHB

August 31, 2007 at 7:22 am 10 comments

roundup link

Labor Day weekend is upon us.

It is a signal for me that summer is drawing to a close and we will soon be cutting fire wood.

Our garden is bare in places where a few months ago it was lush and full.

The corn stalks stand striped of their golden ears and wait to be bundled for hallowe’en decor. The potato patch is turned over and all spuds reported to duty in our potato bin.

I am now gathering watermelon.

I guess I should type that I am gathering “baby” watermelon.

I posted here about the suprise I had that it even came up, as it was grown from misplaced harvested seed from three years ago.

I am not sure if the growth was stunted because it was old seed, or if it was stunted because of weather.

At any rate, I have little baby watermelon. It tastes good in spite of the size.

I have wanted to make this salad since last year when I read about it at The Travelers Notebook watermelon salad recipe here. The pic there is much better than mine, but I bet my home grown baby melons taste just as good.

I subbed walnuts for the pine nuts.

Since it uses wonderful fresh basil, I thought it would be nice for Weekend Herb Blogging hosted this week by WHB originator Kalyn’s Kitchen.

computer tip- did you know that if you spill coffee in your keyboard and ruin it, you can copy and paste osk in the runbox and come up with a on screen keyboard that mouse types. It might take you hours though.

duh

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

In The USA, tis The Season for Tomatoes Bread Salad with Basil, Feta and Marsala Vinaigrette-WHB

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Coffee & Vanilla  |  August 31, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    I always wanted to try watermelon and feta salad… now definitely I will ! :)

    Greetings, Margot

    Reply
  • 2. Kalyn  |  August 31, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    Now I see how you’re typing with the mouse, but it does sound very labor intensive. Love the sound of this salad. Of course, there is feta, which is guarantee of love for me. The combo with basil, watermelon, and feta sounds divine.

    Reply
  • 3. azurezebra  |  September 1, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Wow Sue, this salad sounds divine! I can’t wait to try it. :D

    Reply
  • 4. Katiez  |  September 2, 2007 at 4:26 am

    I love your bby melons! I tried growing them one year and only got babies, too – but only 2 :-(
    I’m trying to imagine eating watermelon properly… you know, on a plate with a fork rather than outside spitting seeds…

    Reply
  • 5. Coffee & Vanilla  |  September 3, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    I tried and it is delicious!! :)
    Toasted pine nuts and feta taste perfect together and watermelon adds freshness… really nice salad.

    Greetings, Margot

    Reply
  • 6. Katerina  |  September 3, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    I want to be able to grow melons this good! I am jealous! I just had the combination of watermelon and feta for the first time a few days ago – now I totally understand why it is such a popular thing. I think pine nuts would give it a lovely crunch.

    Reply
  • 7. Homesick Texan  |  September 5, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    I love the combination of the sweet with the savory. We still have melons so I can’t wait to give this a try!

    Reply
  • 8. sue  |  September 6, 2007 at 6:48 am

    thanks for all the nice comments guys.

    I will be labor typing for a while so sorry if I don’t get around to comment on your blogs.

    Reply
  • 9. Mary Jo  |  July 8, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    I had watermelon salad like this at a 4th of July picnic just this year and at first I thought it was a tomato salad and was pleasantly surprised when I realized it was really watermelon. The salad I had didn’t have pine nuts but i will certainly add them to mine. Thank you for the idea.

    Reply
  • 10. Sue (coffeepot)  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Well thank you Mary Jo for stopping by.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 214,748 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

