Roasted Nectarine and Crabapple Ice Cream – WHB

June 24, 2008 at 6:42 am 10 comments


Kalyn is host of Weekend Herb Blogging this week. I wanted to post this then because I am not sure it abides with the rules.

Here is what I wonder.

Entries can be recipes and/or informative posts featuring any herb, plant, vegetable, or flower. When possible, bloggers are encouraged to add details from other sources so others can learn about the featured plant or ingredient.

My entry has to do with nectarines. Nectarines are considered fruit, but the tree that bears them would seem to me to be a “plant”, and the flower that turns to fruit would seem to meet the “flower”. Of course tomatoes are really fruit also, but just seem different in my mind.

Here is a bit of information on nectarines taken from another link. Nectarine facts

Nectarines are essentially the same fruit as Peaches, the primary difference is that nectarines are smooth-skinned and peaches are fuzzy. The smooth-skin characteristic that distinguishes nectarines is a minor genetic variation, like red hair among people; it is even possible that a peach tree may suddenly produce a branch that bears nectarines, and vice versa. Most recommended varieties have red-and-yellow skins with yellow or white flesh.

If this entry doesn’t meet requirements, I understand if it isn’t included. I wanted WHB founder, Kalyn, to determine that and not a host who may not know what to do.

Anyway on with my post.

I had nectarines that needed to be used along with my home canned crab apple jelly I am working so despairingly to use up. I also had some cream that would soon bite the dust so I wanted my favorite summer dessert, ice cream.

Searching the net for an awesome recipe, since my last ice cream endeavor did not fair so well, I found this adapted version from Alton Brown at Sticky,Gooey,Creamy, Chewy. ( lol what a great name huh?)

Using my grandmothers ice cream maker that I ended up with, I then adapted that to include what I had on hand.

Do you know that in spite of all my quirky adaptations, this is the best ice cream I can ever remember eating?

Link to the original adaptation – Link .

Make sure you visit Kalyn’s Kitchen for the WHB roundup around next Monday.

I hope you enjoy this ice cream as much as we have here in Virginia.


Roasted Nectarine and Crab Apple Ice Cream
Adapted from an adaptation from Alton Brown

2 cups skim milk (that is what I had)
1 cup whipping cream
1/2 cup Splenda (that is what I used to try and make it more diet friendly)
1/2 cup crab apple jelly (there goes some more of my canned jelly! rah!)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I didn’t have vanilla beans)
Pinch kosher salt
4-6 medium roasted nectarines (again what I had on hand )
.To roast the nectarines, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Pit and halve the fruit, and toss them in some white or brown sugar. Then, place them on a baking sheet, cut side down. Roast them for about thirty to forty minutes, ( this would have been too long for my nectarines and 20 minutes sufficed) until they are really soft and the skins are brown.
Peel and chop.
..
Next
Combine all ingredients, except the fruit, in a saucepan and place over medium heat. Attach a candy thermometer to inside of pan. Stirring occasionally, bring the mixture to 170 degrees F. Remove from heat and strain into a lidded container. If you do not have a thermometer, bring the mixture just barely to a simmer. As soon as you see a bubble on the surface, remove it from the heat.
Cool the mixture, then refrigerate it until cooled. ( I didn’t cool it all night)
Freeze mixture in an ice cream machine according to unit’s instructions. ( I added the fruit to the mixture and just socked it to it and omitted the following. ) Once the volume has increased by 1/2 and reached a soft serve consistency, add the fruit and continue turning to incorporate.
Spoon the mixture back into a lidded container and harden in the freezer at least 1 hour before serving.
..
Makes 1 quart

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Peach Buttermilk Smoothie Sun-Dried Tomato and Blue Cheese Burgers on Homemade Buns

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natashya  |  June 24, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Beautiful! I love love love ice cream. What a great combo of flavours. I made ice cream today as well (also with preserves – we are on the same wavelength) but my machine is not as far-out as yours! I can’t wait until nectarines are up in Ontario.

    Reply
  • 2. Robin  |  June 24, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Ooo.. I’ve never had crab apple before.. this sounds wonderful!

    Your site is looking great, Sue! :)

    Reply
  • 3. Sue (coffeepot)  |  June 24, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks Natashya and Robin. :)

    Reply
  • 4. Kalyn  |  June 25, 2008 at 8:30 am

    I agree, your site is looking great! Love the idea of making ice cream with splenda too. This sounds just delicious.

    Reply
  • 5. Ali  |  June 25, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Yum! I just upgraded our ice cream maker and will have to try the roasted nectarines in ice cream, unfortunately sans crab apple jelly!

    Sue, thanks for visiting Henbogle. I’ve been tagged for a meme, so now I’m tagging you! Details here: http://henbogle.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/im-it/

    I thought it would be a good way to get to know you!

    Ali

    Reply
  • 6. Sue (coffeepot)  |  June 25, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Thanks Kalyn and Ali. Now I must go see the meme.

    Reply
  • 7. Independence Days Update «  |  June 26, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    [...] more of my crab apple jelly in this ice cream.I have got to get that jelly used up because our crab apple trees are full this [...]

    Reply
  • 8. Jude  |  July 1, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Interesting stuff… I’m not very familiar with nectarines…

    Reply
  • 9. Sue  |  July 2, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Hey Jude thank you.

    Reply
  • 10. BREAD STICK BAGS  |  July 27, 2014 at 5:25 am

    I think this is one of the most vital information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark
    on some general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is
    really nice : D. Good job, cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 214,647 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

