Julia Child 3rd Birthday Event

August 1, 2008 at 4:41 pm 25 comments


Julia Child’s Wine Poached Fruit in Chocolate Cups

Lisa at Champaign Taste is holding the 3rd Julia Child Birthday Event to celebrate Julia’s birthday.

Lisa’s first Julia Child Birthday Event was the very first blog event I ever entered, after starting Coffee & Cornbread about three years ago.

I didn’t want to miss it but the dish I wanted to prepare needed fresh pears. You can not hardly poach a pear without pears, but I did have one peach, one mango, several oranges and bananas.

I decided to use Julia’s formula for poaching fruit and substitute the one peach for pear. I didn’t want a bunch of it laying around the house anyway and it would be a perfect serving for two in her chocolate cups.

Julia’ s proportions for poaching fresh fruit are 6 tablespoons of sugar per cup of wine, according to the Julia Child’s Menu Cookbook.

You also add lemon juice and zest along with a cinnamon stick. Simmer the liquid about 5 minutes then put in the peeled fruit and maintain the heat on the fruit about 10 minutes at just barely below a simmer.

When you cut off the heat you cover the fruit and let it sit in the liquid covered at least 20 minutes, but can sit for several days in the refrigerator.

I used red wine and allowed the peach to sit in the refrigerator about 3 days.

For the chocolate cups Julia tells us to melt chocolate on a double boiler and then coat paper cupcake forms with the chocolate.

Here she is doing it in her book.

Here I am coating cups.

I am suppose to refrigerate and carefully peel the paper away when they become firm.
I tried, I really did, but I busted both cups on the edge.

I managed to place the fruit in the cup to hide the busted edges.

We are suppose to serve the poached fruit with a caramel sauce in the chocolate cup. Caramel sauce takes cream and I didn’t have any.

I did however have some store purchased caramel sauce, so I used that drizzled with some of the poaching liquid. I also had leftover chocolate which I made a few curls from to place on top.

It was wonderful. The poaching liquid mixed in the caramel was so good!

The only things I might do different is to make my own caramel next time and let the chocolate cups come to room temperature because while still cool they tended to be hard to eat.

Oh …and Julia also put a macaroon cookie under her pears. I am not one to like macaroons, so I felt it was great without it

Entry filed under: food. Tags: , , , , .

Independence Days Update Roasted New Potatoes

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bakinghistory  |  August 1, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Hi Sue,
    what a beautiful dessert!! The combination of flavors and textures sounds wonderful. I would like to try this recipe.

    Reply
  • 2. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 1, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Thanks bakinghistory. It was very good, you should try it.

    Reply
  • 3. Ali  |  August 1, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Wow, that looks fab! Hmmm, it is too early yet for peaches, pears, apples…. I’ll have to wait a bit and try it when the pears are ripe, because it looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 4. Kalyn  |  August 2, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Very impressive! I’ve never cooked anything even remotely this fancy, I’m quite sure!

    Reply
  • 5. Natashya  |  August 2, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Wow, that looks straight out of a magazine, Sue.
    I wonder if you would have an easier time with silicone muffin liners? I have not tried making chocolate shells yet.
    This looks absolutely wonderful!

    Reply
  • 6. Alexa  |  August 2, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    This looks fantastic. The presentation is so dramatic. It would be the perfect end to any meal.

    Reply
  • 7. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 2, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Ghee thanks for the great comments Ali, Kalyn, Natashya and Alexa.

    Reply
  • 8. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 2, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Natashya not sure about the silicone forms but that might be the answer. Good idea to try.

    Reply
  • 9. My Sweet & Saucy  |  August 4, 2008 at 1:48 am

    What a great photo of the dessert! Looks so tasty!

    Reply
  • 10. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 4, 2008 at 6:56 am

    It was very good My Sweet & Saucy.

    Reply
  • 11. Ari (Baking and Books)  |  August 4, 2008 at 11:18 am

    What an elegant recipe! I love the chocolate cups in particular – yum.

    Reply
  • 12. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 4, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Ari they were wonderful and the neat thing they were so simple. Too bad I chipped the cups but next time I will be more careful.

    Reply
  • 13. Lisa  |  August 4, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Sue, that is so beautiful! I love the darling little peach, the one perfect peach, floating in a sea of caramel and juices. And of course, the chocolate cup. You’d never know it had a broken edge. Fabulous photo.

    Thank you so much for taking part three years in a row! There ought to be an award for that. :) I guess our food is the reward, isn’t it. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 14. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 4, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Yes Lisa, thanks for a great event.

    Reply
  • 15. Noor  |  August 5, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    I made the yum yum blog award just a few months to see where all she would end up and you would not believe the amazing food blogs she has ended up on. I have had so much fun seeing all of this and learning about more blogs and recipes along the way.

    You deserve it!

    Noor from Ya Salam Cooking

    Reply
  • 16. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 5, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Thanks Noor

    Reply
  • 17. Kristen  |  August 6, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Absolutely gorgeous! Wish I had one of those right about now.

    Reply
  • 18. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 6, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Thanks Kristen.

    Reply
  • 19. Susan from Food Blogga  |  August 6, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Your photos keep getting better and better. These are just beautiful.

    Reply
  • 20. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 6, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Thank you Susan.

    Reply
  • 21. Lori Lynn at Taste With The Eyes  |  August 17, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Fabulous! I love how you show to make the chocolate cups. And that you are not shy to share the broken ones!

    Reply
  • 22. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Funny Lori I couldn’t share at all without the broken since they all broke! lol.. Maybe next time I can do better.

    Reply
  • 23. ftemqsr ghdvfwnci  |  September 8, 2008 at 4:50 am

    mgze khpoaxdwr pyliqorxd djbvzxlsc xktgs zemri evnraw

    Reply
  • 24. Silah Oyunlari  |  July 26, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    No one ever went broke by saying no too often. -Harvey Mckay

    Reply
  • 25. Melody  |  July 26, 2013 at 4:36 am

    Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is valuable and all.
    However think of if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this blog could certainly be one of the greatest in its
    niche. Wonderful blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 212,052 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

