Cucumber Salad

August 15, 2008 at 6:18 am 9 comments

I am so busy freezing and canning.

I figured I might stop long enough to post this refreshing and simple salad.

Cucumber, Tomato and Feta Salad

2 medium cucumbers , peeled and chopped
2 medium tomato, chopped
1/2 small onion diced
1/4 cup feta, crumbled
1 tablespoon wine vinegar
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 to 2 tablespoon chopped fresh basil
salt and pepper to taste

Just mix and enjoy. I like it room temperature.

Not sure when I’ll get back in the blogging swing since corn is coming in, along side tomato and green beans. I can not stop until I have it preserved or eaten. Oh the joys of vegetable gardening! :)

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Cilantro Turned to Coriander- WHB Roasted Green Beans

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natashya  |  August 15, 2008 at 9:15 am

    This is exactly the kind of salad I like to make all the time at this time of year. I like it room temp too, and it is so handy to just sit aside while I make the rest of dinner.
    I have pots of tomatoes, I don’t have much land to speak of.
    I am committed to learning how to can this year. So far I have only frozen and dehydrated (mostly herbs)
    We are picking up canning accoutrements on Sunday and I am jumping in.
    I sort of wish I hadn’t read Larry’s Party where she fatally poisons her mother in law with her home canning. It has put some fear in my heart!

    Reply
  • 2. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 15, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Natashya when you can, read stuff about it on the web and go by tried recipes.

    There is a lot of good information on the web about canning.

    I understand where you are coming from though. Sometimes I have felt the same, but have been doing it since 2000 and being very cautious have had good results.

    Reply
  • 3. Glenna  |  August 17, 2008 at 12:40 am

    I am so jealous of your canning and freezing and your beautiful salad. Gorgeous! My tomatoes bit the dust this year. They either drowned of the Midwest overkill rains or died of a bad attitude. I can’t decide which…

    Happy canning!

    Reply
  • 4. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 17, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Thanks Glenna.

    Bad attitude has killed some of my plants before but tomatoes have faired well this year.

    Sorry you have had so much rain. Send some my way we are too dry.

    Reply
  • 5. katie  |  August 18, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Ah yes, the joys… I’m so damn jealous I can hardly stand it. My vegetable freezer is turned off. OFF!!!!!
    No garden, sigh…..
    Have fun for me too!

    Reply
  • 6. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 18, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    katie , I hope you soon can get that fixed.

    Reply
  • 7. Mark Shaw  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:39 am

    I love your recipes – tried a few of them and very successful. Would you mind contacting me by email as I have a coffee related business proposition to speak to you about.
    Thanks
    Mark

    Reply
  • 8. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 19, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Thank you Mark.

    Reply
  • 9. Reggie Bush Youth Jersey Stitched Miami  |  July 22, 2013 at 8:56 am

    To meet expectations and get to the trapped people and took them
    downstairs to a boat in the street. In PPR leagues, he is not only capable of starting in the
    NFL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 212,008 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

