Roasted Green Beans

August 21, 2008 at 6:57 pm 11 comments

I have the past two years taken to roasting green beans.

Here is how I do it.

Clean about 2 cups fresh green beans and place in a covered iron chicken fryer sprayed with olive oil spray. On top put one diced red sweet pepper along with one small onion diced and one minced clove garlic.

Salt well then spray well with cooking spray. Next add on top about 5 to 6 slices lemon.

Cover and bake at 350 for about 40 minutes. When they come out take off the lemon, stir well and sprinkle with grated parmesan cheese.

The green bean actually brown a bit on the bottoms and hubby and I like that. They may be cooked too long for some but we find they are perfect.

Something a bit different eating browned green beans.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , .

Cucumber Salad Roadtrip

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. [eatingclub] vancouver || js  |  August 21, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    This looks great. Majority of our family members like their green beans to be soft too, so this one is a must-try. Thanks for the tip!

    Reply
  • 2. Kalyn  |  August 21, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Wow! I want some of these beans.

    Reply
  • 3. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 22, 2008 at 2:22 am

    eatingclub and Kalyn,

    Hi. We like them browned and cooked longer.

    Not that I dont like them other ways too, I do, but this is a bit different.

    Reply
  • 4. Natashya  |  August 23, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I love roasting veggies too. I haven’t tried green beans though, what a great idea.
    ps – I did my first batch of canning yesterday. Tomato sauce from Small Batch Preserving. Hopefully I did ok. I will be more confident and coordinated next time now that I have done it once.
    I am giving some to my mother, hopefully I don’t end up an orphan because of it!

    Reply
  • 5. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 24, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I dont think you will be an orphan natashya..lol.

    Reply
  • 6. gattina  |  August 30, 2008 at 3:22 am

    I ate green beans way too much during my childhood (that probably caused my dampen enuthasiam later on). But none of them prepare in such a wonderful way like yours! Yes, I think they cooked perfectly… really want to try now :D

    Reply
  • 7. Sue (coffeepot)  |  August 31, 2008 at 7:49 am

    Gattina I hope you like them . They are different browned like that.

    Reply
  • 8. Ali  |  September 4, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    I’m going to try this soon, I’ve been thinking about it ever since you posted it!

    Ali

    Reply
  • 9. Sue (coffeepot)  |  September 4, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Thanks Ali I hope you like it.

    Reply
  • 10. Z  |  November 13, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    I’m trying this recipe tonight (it’s actually in the oven now)! My question is what is the purpose of the lemon slices?

    Reply
  • 11. Sue  |  November 22, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    It gives it a wonderful lemon flavor Z.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posting Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Currently on Coffee & Cornbread

Coffee & Cornbread Archives

My Flickr Photos

thing2

thing1and2

thing1

More Photos

Blog Visits

  • 213,232 hits

Food Blog Search

What Spice Are You

You Are Cilantro

The bad news is that
there are some people
who can't stand you.
The good news is that
most people love you more
than anything else in the world.
You are distinct, unusual, fresh,
and very controversial.
And you wouldn't have it
any other way.

What Spice Are You?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

