Liar Zucchini

I own liar Zucchini plants.

They lead me to believe harvest was gone one day, only to discover 2 monster zucchini lurking in wait.

I did not have enough for this entire recipe but halved it believing I would end up with 4 pints. 4 pints was certainly all this household could handle. I ended up with three pints after all said and done. I wish I had 4..it turned out very good. I added hot pepper for some zing.

Found in an old Beta Sigma Phi International cookbook. ( I couldn’t find a date on the book but it is very faded which leads me to believe it may be as old or older than myself) This recipe for me and my liar zuchinni plants is a keeper.

Zucchini Relish
Recipe By : Donna Sparks, Cortez, CO

10 cups zucchini — chopped
4 cups chopped onion
3 each bell pepper — chopped
5 tablespoons kosher salt
4 1/2 cups sugar
2 1/2 cups white vinegar
1 tablespoon dry mustard
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 tablespoons cornstarch
2 tablespoons celery seed
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper

Place unpeeled chopped zucchini, chopped onion, chopped bell pepper and salt into a large pot. Cover with water and allow to sit overnight.

Drain water and rinse in cold water. Drain again.

Combine sugar, vinegar,mustard, turmeric, cornstarch, celery seed, nutmeg and ground pepper. Pour over zucchini mixture in pot and cook on low heat about 30 minutes.

Ladle mixture into sterilized pint jars and seal in a boiling water bath.

Yield:
“8 pints”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. shelly
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 16:58:41

    i love that kitchen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

