Hell’s Kitchen

I appreciate Kate’s comment on my blog about Gordon Ramsay. It goes as follows.

In Anthony Bourdains book A Cooks Tour he has a whole chapter devoted to premier chefs, and one of them in Gordon Ramsay. In England he is considered the chef to work for, and his staff has been with him forever, a true mark of a good chef. Yes, hes tough, but he is that way because of the high standards he sets for his food and his people. The reason Americans dislike him so much is simply because they dont understand that mentality. (according to Bourdain)

It gave me “food” for thought. This American, for one, does not dislike Ramsay as Kate gleened from this book.

I understand that the aspiring contestants on Hells Kitchen probably sign all sorts of legal garble denying their right to human dignity in the name of fame, fortune, and recognition.

My thoughts are that in spite of this that if Ramsay were an employer in the USA and treated employees in such a manner he would end up in court for employer abuse.

Now Ramsay’s chefs might be self contractors thereby not employed by Ramsay in the true use of the word.

In my eyes however abuse is abuse, and even a self contractor would for the sake of self respect sue his pompous ass.

Then again it all could be an act for the sake of entertainment. I wouldn’t know but could only guess.

What people won’t subject themselves to for the sake of a buck amazes me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cooknkate
    Jul 20, 2006 @ 22:20:07

    My implication was never that you personally disliked him, to gleen anything from Bourdains book is all subjective; it was really hard to tell whether Bourdain worshiped or reviled him. I had a boss once who tended towards being verbally abusive- tough situation and long story- so I know what it’s like. However, given that, I would never stand for it again. There are two sides to every story so I just allow for that and not put too much emphasis on it. He is who he is, and is the best known chef in England.

    Reply

  2. coffeepot
    Jul 21, 2006 @ 19:00:09

    Good Kate.

    I can’t really explain except to say…the book’s implied reason for some American’s dislike of Ramsey is way off.

    Reply

  3. shelly
    Jan 18, 2007 @ 11:55:44

    i love your kitchen?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

