Crabapple Liquer

Our crabapple trees are loaded this year.

There are only so many things one can do with crabapples.

There is my last jar of jelly to consider, half eaten,
but I also want to do something different.

I found this floating around the web some time back.
I can’t remember where I got it but it sounds like something to try.
If anyone has ever tried this I would love some feedback on how it turned out.

Crabapple Liquer

Many crabapples to fill mason jar
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup vodka
1 stick cinnamon (optional)

I take a quart (or litre) mason jar, fill it with quartered crabapples, add sugar (lots of room between the quarters) and vodka. Ocassionally toss in a stick of cinnamon. Place on its side (make sure you’ve put the lid on -tight-), rotate 90 degrees every day so that the sugar gets mixed and all crabapples get equally soaked. After 2 weeks, filter out the apples.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SE
    Jul 23, 2006 @ 17:31:50

    You could also pickle them. Nice touch for Thanksgiving and the holidays.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
