Make Soup Not War- Vegetable Stock

Here is a great book I refer to in my own personal game of utilize and making war with the world system.

My endeavors have started a freezer bag that looks like freezer garbage.

I fill it with onion tops and scraps, carrot peels, tomato ends, bell pepper scraps, even that scrap of garlic I pull out of my garlic press.

I fill it with any vegetable garbage that doesn’t need to be blanched to freeze.

I make stock with garbage, instead of war with my disposal and utilize what might have ended up in the trash or garden bed.

When I get a full freezer bag I simply throw the contents in a pot and cover with water. Add a few fresh herbs as desired, salt (personal preference) and a few peppercorns then bring it to a slow boil. Skim the top and bring it to a simmer for a couple of hours and skim as necessary. Don’t bring it to a boil again and if you use a pressure cooker time is cut dramatically.

To cool plunge the pot into ice water. I never skip this ice bath because it is what keeps the temperature in the cooling process from that bad bacteria stage. Strain the stock well and fill one and two cup measures to freeze for recipes remembering your headspace for freezing.

Some things that will ruin stock.
Anything from the cabbage family.
Don’t use –
Cabbage
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Brussel Sprouts
Broccoflower
Boc Choy.

Tomato is often thought to overwhelm vegetable stock so I try to keep the tomato ends limited. I also limit the garlic press mess because of personal preference.

I can always turn it to chicken stock by freezing that whole chicken scrap roasted on Sunday. Just add it to the veggies.

Of course the taste will differ with each batch according to the scraps, but I love variety!

So make soup and not war child!
Flower Power! (or should I say veggie power?)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cooknkate
    Aug 14, 2006 @ 07:08:02

    I heard that mushrooms will cloud veggie stock too.

    Seriously good tips. I love soup, it’s the best late summer, early fall meal. And wintertime is perfect for steaming bowls. I can’t wait to get to soup season, I have many recipes to share!

    Reply

  2. Kalyn
    Aug 14, 2006 @ 08:42:44

    Great post. I save all kinds of scraps like this in my freezer too.

    Reply

  3. joey
    Aug 14, 2006 @ 09:38:43

    Great tips! πŸ™‚ As I type I have the scrap from 2 roast chikens in my freezer, waiting to be turned into stock πŸ™‚ Make soup not war! I agree πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. coffeepot
    Aug 14, 2006 @ 14:22:08

    Hey Kate, Kalyn and joey.

    I have never heard that about mushrooms Kate.

    I’ve never put mushrooms in mine but someone told me somewhere they had done it successfully.

    Maybe we ought to try it and see for ourselves?

    Has anyone ever tried mushrooms in their stock?

    I never have mushroom scraps.

    Reply

  5. sher
    Aug 15, 2006 @ 11:12:20

    This is so Nigella!! She showed her freezer on a show and it was full of plastic bags full of food. Great idea, I try to do this, but I should do it consistantly!

    Reply

  6. surfindaave
    Aug 15, 2006 @ 12:16:07

    A great idea! We always have tons of such scraps every night, but never any around when it comes to making a soup.

    Reply

  7. Gail Hoyos
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 14:43:33

    I have enjoyed your blog. Please take a look at mine about gardening

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

