Dill Tomato Soup-Weekend Herb Blogging

I am tagging this post for Weekend Herb Blogging hosted this week at
The Inadvertent Gardener.
Go there and check out more WHB posts for the week.

Tomato Dill Soup
Liquefy three cups of unpeeled red tomatoes with 2 large cloves
of garlic in a blender.

Roma works best but any red tomato will do.
You can peel and de-seed if you prefer but I never do.

Place the liquid tomatoes and garlic in a large saucepan with –

2 c chicken stock
1/2 c white cooking wine
1 teaspoon lemon zest
about 3 teaspoon fresh chopped dill

cook this over medium heat 15 minutes then add –

3/4 c heavy cream
1/4 c shredded parmesan cheese
kosher salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

simmer another 15 minutes.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream and dill sprig.

Goes well with crostini and salad for a light lunch, or as
a first course to your favorite light baked fish.

I have also done this with yellow tomatoes adding an onion
and it was very good.

Of course if you don’t like that tomato application you can always make a –

Big Ole Ugly Tomato Sandwich

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeff
    Aug 29, 2006 @ 20:08:43

    That tomato sandwich looks a bit tough to eat πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. coffeepot
    Aug 29, 2006 @ 22:04:43

    Yeah Jeff. It was hard.

    Reply

  3. SE
    Aug 30, 2006 @ 08:28:52

    I had a sandwich at a fair contest like that once.

    Reply

  4. cooknkate
    Aug 30, 2006 @ 09:22:19

    I envision the tomato “squirt” in biting that sandwich since it looks impossible to close your mouth over it.

    The soup sounds delicious….fresh tomato soup is a definite YUM

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Aug 30, 2006 @ 09:27:37

    Oh my goodness — that tomato soup looks heavenly. Now that the weather is cooling off, but I still have tomatoes, I’m going to try it. I don’t grow dill, but I think I could use tarragon or basil . . .

    Reply

  6. sher
    Aug 30, 2006 @ 19:12:32

    I would just lean on the sandwich with my hands, then eat it. :):) The soup looks delicious. Yum! I love dill.

    Reply

  7. ilva
    Aug 31, 2006 @ 01:55:57

    Great soup, I love the dill combo!

    Reply

  8. ilva
    Aug 31, 2006 @ 02:31:17

    I forget to tell you that you are on my list for the Blog Day event!

    Reply

  9. gattina
    Aug 31, 2006 @ 02:58:19

    your tomato sandwich *lol*
    I love your soup, using yellow tomato sounds wonderful too!

    Reply

  10. Tanna
    Aug 31, 2006 @ 03:08:26

    I can see why Ilva reads you.

    Reply

  11. coffeepot
    Aug 31, 2006 @ 08:25:17

    Thank you Ilva for including little ole me on your list. I am honored.

    Hello gattina, Tanna, Sher, Lisa and Kate. Hope your all doing well.

    Reply

  12. Glenna
    Aug 31, 2006 @ 09:30:00

    Snort. Love the tomato sandwich. Let’s see, was that two slices of bread and four tomatos or four loaves of bread and two slices of tomato? It’s so confusing.

    Hey, tagged you for the 5 foods to eat for before you die meme–have fun with it!

    Reply

  13. coffeepot
    Aug 31, 2006 @ 19:10:49

    Hey Glenna, Believe it or not that was just one very ugly tomato.

    Reply

  14. Genie
    Sep 01, 2006 @ 09:38:41

    Coffeepot, this soup looks really good and awfully easy! When I get back from traveling, I’m definitely trying it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Genie
    http://www.theinadvertentgardener.com

    Reply

  15. Trackback: The Inadvertent Gardener
  16. Kalyn
    Sep 04, 2006 @ 10:46:33

    I love the sound of this and I’m so happy to hear you say you don’t bother to remove the seeds and skins from the tomatoes. For years I would put my tomato sauce through the food mill, a messy job and time consuming. One year I thought, why not just puree the tomatoes in the food processor. Worked great. Now the only time I remove the skin is when I want a chunky sauce. I’m saving this recipe to my del.icio.us cookbook right now!

    Reply

  17. Christa
    Sep 05, 2006 @ 21:08:42

    LOL! The big old ugly tomato sandwich! I have some horrible-looking tomatoes that I picked from the garden this weekend. Oh, but they are so good, no matter how ugly!

    The soup sounds great. I love dill and wish mine would grow faster…so I could put it in soup with my ugly tomatoes. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

