Call Me Driven

Call me driven. I have to utilize. I spent the morning freezing yellow tomatoes even though my heart was not in it.

I have to peel tomatoes when I freeze them. I have tried freezing without peeling ,and while it does work, I didn’t like it.

Peeling for freezing is easy though so no big deal.

Just drop them in boiling water until the skins crack.

Then transfer them to cold water and the peel just slides off easily.

I always wear gloves because, while it isn’t as bad as doing hot peppers, the acid is still rough on your hands.

Bag those babies up and mark and date your bag.

It is better to mark and date before you bag but I often choose the harder route in life.

I am thinking that when the occasion calls for a sauce I could add tomato paste to the yellows and while it might fade the color, it is doubtful my family would even notice. Caramelizing the onion and adding red wine might help also. I am trying it tomorrow.

At any rate the yellows are frozen for future use and there are so many more beginning to turn it had better work.

I have never had this many yellow tomatoes before.

I hope to goodness I have freezer room for mangoes. I want to buy up several to freeze next week. I don’t know about the rest of the world, but in my neck of the woods mangoes become impossible to buy after September.

You can buy firm mangoes, peel and slice. Single layer them on cookie sheets to freeze then transfer them to freezer bags.

Check to make sure you have freezer insurance in case of an outage! lol..

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeff
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 10:12:37

    Man, I haven’t even had 1 yellow tomato this summer…well..I did have a yellow cherry tomato, does that count?

    Reply

  2. Lisa Morgan
    Sep 13, 2006 @ 15:59:08

    I guess some would balk at yellow tomato sauce — you don’t see that often! Probably the paste would help make it look more . . . traditional. It’d be interesting to see how a sauce with yellows only would look.

    Reply

  3. Jaay
    Sep 14, 2006 @ 01:00:22

    wow, freezing tomatoes – takes me back to my childhood with my grandma canning tomatoes from the garden..I really miss that.

    Reply

  4. Glenna
    Sep 14, 2006 @ 09:26:47

    Lots of hard work but great job! You’re going to love having those on hand.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

