Waste Not Want Not and Survivor!

The garden is about spent. While we still have tomatoes and peppers
the chill in the air gave us the incentive to dig potatoes last week.

I also got up the last of our cabbage, This one didn’t grow as
large as some of the others so I made vegetable spring rolls with it.

I used what I had on hand which was some grated carrot, sweet and
hot peppers, green onion, cabbage with soy sauce, ginger and
a little sherry to taste.

This filling is cooked well in advance to chill because it will
tear the wrappers if hot.

The wrappers are
2 c all purpose flour
1/2 t salt
1 beaten egg
about 1/2 c water ( more or less) to form a stiff dough.

Let the dough rest about 10-15 minutes then roll and cut to size.
Place in filling, roll and then pop into your deep fryer.

I get about 10 large spring rolls.

Of course you also need some chicken fried rice to go with that.

fortune cookie say waste not want not.

Speaking of which –Survivor!

Those guys can’t waste nothing!
I will be watching close this season because Cowboy is a local.

It is even on “Cook” Islands this season.

Cowboy does a friend of a friend of a friend’s nails..You know how that
goes. Spelling is actually “Cao Boi” .

Cao Boi Link

Anyway.. Last night they showed him eating coconut so here is
one of my fav coconut recipes. I love the convenience of this
recipe and while I haven’t made them in a while ( sorry no photo)
I love the things. I often sub vanilla chips for the butterscotch and
chocolate graham crackers for regular.

Seven Layer Bars

1/2 stick butter
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
7 ounces coconut — flaked
6 ounces chocolate chip
6 ounces butterscotch chips
1 can sweetened condensed milk — can use fat free
1 cup chopped pecans

Melt butter in a 9×12 baking pan. Add ingredients as listed abouve in layers.

Bake at 325 about 30 minutes. Let cool and cut into small bars.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeff
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 08:57:00

    7 layer bars are a great way to kick off a weekend in our house

    Reply

  2. cooknkate
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 10:33:39

    Sheesh….they’re a great way to kick off just about any day!!!

    Our last few warm days here have really helped my late harvest tomatoes come running for the red. I always get so sad when I have to lay the garden to rest in the fall- parting is such sweet sorrow!

    I love Spring Rolls too, even my chowpup eats them.

    Reply

  3. sher
    Sep 15, 2006 @ 14:14:32

    I liked Cowboy the best too. Both recipes look great. Good solution for veggies with the springroll.

    Reply

  4. Kate
    Sep 17, 2006 @ 13:35:57

    These springrolls look so lovely and healthy. I’m new to your blog, but love it! Thanks!

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Sep 17, 2006 @ 14:30:17

    Spring rolls, yum. And with all your home-grown stuff. Wowie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

