Homemade Mayo

I have always been afraid to try and make mayonnaise. The egg thing always got me. I recently ran upon a recipe using Eggbeaters at Cooks.Com. Here is what it looks like-

It isn’t bad and I also used Splenda in place of the sugar. I guess you could use lemon juice in place of the vinegar but I haven’t tried that yet.

Here is the recipe.

BLENDER MAYONNAISE

1/3 c. Eggbeaters
3/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. dry mustard
1/4 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. sugar
2 tbsp. white vinegar
1 c. Mazola corn oil

Combine Eggbeaters, spices, sugar, vinegar, and 1/2 cup oil in blender container. Cover and whirl on medium-high speed just until blended. Without turning off blender, slowly pour in remaining 1/2 cup oil in a fine stream. If necessary, use rubber spatula to keep mixture flowing to blades. Store in covered container in refrigerator. Makes 1 1/2 cups.

Description:
“Taken from – http://www.cooks.com”

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. husband
    Oct 08, 2006 @ 15:17:05

    I’m curious in looking at the recipe. Since most egg substitutes are made of whites that are then colored with eggs, how does this hold up overtime with out the egg yolk’s emulsifying properties? And does it have that smoothness that mayo has?

    Reply

  2. coffeepot
    Oct 08, 2006 @ 18:33:51

    Well husband I don’t know yet about it holding up. I just made it today. It is smooth though. At least for the time being. I guess I will give it a while to see.

    Reply

  3. sam
    Oct 09, 2006 @ 00:28:52

    well I never ever put sugar in my mayonnaise?

    Reply

  4. Jeff
    Oct 09, 2006 @ 09:12:09

    Sugar in mayo? Hrmmm…interesting

    Reply

  5. sher
    Oct 09, 2006 @ 13:17:00

    I love homemade mayo! My mom always made ours. She used lemon juice, as I recall. It tastes so good on a tomato sandwich.

    Reply

  6. kevin
    Oct 09, 2006 @ 17:30:07

    Sugar? Blech!
    BTW, you can now find pasteurized eggs in many groceries, so if you’re worried about contamination they’re a good choice for anythin called for raw eggs.

    Reply

  7. coffeepot
    Oct 09, 2006 @ 18:10:13

    lol..yes Kevin I know about grocery store eggs. I live in the country not outer space.

    Reply

  8. kevin
    Oct 10, 2006 @ 08:46:30

    I mentioned them because there’s only one grocery chain in Knoxville that carries them and I only happened to notice them,

    Reply

  9. cooknkate
    Oct 10, 2006 @ 09:38:25

    cp…..great response!

    and for those who eschew sugar in the mayo…it’s a half tsp……not a whole bag, and do you honestly KNOW it wouldn’t be good? don’t knock it until you try it. cp knows her stuff.

    keep it up, girl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

