Yogurt

If anyone looked in my fridge they would think my yogurt was out of date. If anyone looked at my spice rack they would think I buy McCormick.

The reason is I save the containers and refill. The spice rack bottles have sentimental value and the yogurt containers are just convenient.

Here is Martha Stewarts recipe for yogurt

5 cups whole, low-fat, or skim milk
1/4 cup plain yogurt with active cultures

1. In a heavy-bottomed 4-quart saucepan, heat milk, stirring frequently over medium heat, to 185°. Remove from heat, and let cool to 110°.
2. Place yogurt in a medium bowl. Using a whisk, gradually stir in cooled milk, about 1/2 cup at a time, stirring until smooth between additions. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap, poking two or three holes for ventilation. Transfer to a warm place (about 90°), and let sit until milk begins to thicken around the edges and the yogurt is set, about 5 hours.
3. Place bowl in refrigerator until completely chilled. Reserve at least 1/4 cup of this yogurt to begin next batch. Refrigerate for up to 2 weeks in an airtight container.

I usually place in a tightly covered termos to sit. Everything else about the same.

I would show photos but it just looks like yogurt.

Anyway I found a recipe for a yogurt brine that I am trying today.

I will hopefully post results later.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalyn
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 10:44:25

    Very impressive. I’ve never made yogurt.

    Reply

  2. lucette
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 11:24:12

    I keep meaning to try making yogurt–this sounded so delightfully simple that I’ll have to do it.

    Reply

  3. sher
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 15:13:04

    I used to make all our yogurt. It was pretty easy once you get a system and it tastes so much lighter than the stuff from the store. But, I stopped. Your post makes me think I should go back to doing it again……….

    Reply

  4. cooknkate
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 08:15:52

    We love yogurt, and I should learn how to make it. Are you able to add flavoring to it ? I suppose you could just stir something into the finished product too.

    Reply

  5. Jeff
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 08:51:14

    Yogurt brine…interesting

    Reply

  6. coffeepot
    Oct 20, 2006 @ 07:33:24

    Hey All. Kate I have seen recipes that add honey. I always just make my plain and fat free and then add what I want according to the time and recipe. I often add chopped fruit later with a little splenda or honey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

