Sage Shortbread

The Sage Shortbread recipe posted by The Inadvertent Gardener a few weeks back has to be one the the best shortbreads I’ve ever tried. The only problem with it is I can’t stop eating it. She says it was originally by Christiane Britton with Rosemary.

I didn’t try any herb but the Sage. Who would have thought this particular herb would make such a great cookie? I ground it fine in my coffee mill. Not sure how my next batch of coffee might taste though.

Now I’m wondering if I should let someone close to me that always makes shortbread in on this? I wonder if they would take offence? Maybe I’ll just have some laying around and let her taste it.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. inadvertentgardener
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 17:03:23

    I’m glad you like the recipe — it’s really so easy and yet so spectacular…and yeah, the sage version is definitely rockin’.

    Ugh. Now I’m totally craving this, and we do, in fact, have all the ingredients on hand. Must. Resist. Buttery. Goodness…

    Genie
    The Inadvertent Gardener

    Reply

  2. Jeff
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 21:42:50

    Sage and shortbread sounds like a powerful combo

    Reply

  3. Brilynn
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 11:41:06

    I’m all for trying savory with sweet. My most recent adventure is basil brownies. I’ll have to give your shortbread a try.

    Reply

  4. maura
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 15:04:57

    I love shortbread, and the addition of sage sounds wonderful!

    Reply

  5. Patti
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 19:27:55

    I have a big sage plant in my herb garden. Guess what I will be trying soon! Thanks for posting!

    Reply

  6. Lisa
    Oct 24, 2006 @ 06:59:39

    This is great! I definitely have to try it. I brought my big ol’ sage plant inside last week (the rosemary, too), and I’m hoping it survives in its nice sunny window.

    Reply

  7. Betts
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 21:28:44

    Run some raw rice through the coffee mill to get rid of sage residue.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
