Double Your Pleasure, Double Your Fun


…with doublemint gum!

I just found out..I’m going to be a grandma times two!

My son and his wife are expecting twins! She is six weeks along today. I am beside myself!

Hopefully they won’t look like this photo.

So in celebration of my expected children running the roost at our home again, and Halloween,
I am posting a kid happy recipe for Popcorn Balls.

Caramel Candy Popcorn Balls

1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon whole milk
4 cups popped corn

Dissolve brown sugar in water. Stir and bring to boil. Once brown sugar dissolves, stop stirring and boil for another 5 minutes (mixture will begin to thicken). Remove from heat and stir in milk. Cool to room temperature. Pour over popcorn. Spray hands with nonstick cooking spray and form balls.

Yield:
“8 Popcorn Balls”

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sher
    Oct 31, 2006 @ 12:29:57

    Congratulations!!! How exciting! And you can make those delicious popcorn balls for your grandkids.

    Reply

  2. Jeff
    Oct 31, 2006 @ 13:44:37

    Congratz on the expected arrivals!!

    Reply

  3. Scott
    Oct 31, 2006 @ 20:49:46

    Thanks for this recipe. My grandmother made popcorn balls to give out at Halloween, well into the era of product tampering paranoia. Love ’em!

    Reply

  4. maura
    Nov 01, 2006 @ 01:35:21

    I’ve always wanted to make these- thanks!

    Reply

  5. Brilynn
    Nov 01, 2006 @ 09:20:26

    The grandkids will love these! Grandma’s are always allowed to spoil dinners!

    Reply

  6. cooknkate
    Nov 01, 2006 @ 10:14:26

    Yippee! Twice as nice!

    I love caramel corn, in any form, but it’s favorite thing to do to me is attack me around the waist and I tend to want to avoid that!

    Reply

  7. Glenna
    Nov 05, 2006 @ 14:59:23

    Congratulations, Grandma. That’s fantastic! (Cute scarecrows, too.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

