My Kitchen

Ilva at Lucullian Delights is putting together a “My Kitchen” event
with links to other kitchens. It sounded like fun, so here is my own kitchen.

We ran a Bed and Breakfast from our kitchen for 7 years. It was a
mom & pop establishment where we only served breakfast with lodging.

Except for an occasional wedding which we hired out caterers
and have “standing room” receptions, hubby and I were the
sole employees.

I have had many strangers in my kitchen. I never had a complaint,
but I had a knack at making people believe there wasn’t a care in the
world.

I can tell you now there are many cares in running a small
Bed and Breakfast.

I don’t keep my kitchen as spotless as I did back then. You never
knew when a guest would get up in the middle of the night and
open the fridge for a glass of milk. You also never knew when the
local health department might show up for a look around.

I have some things I love about my kitchen.

1) The island where hubby could stand on one side and work while
I worked from the other side.
2) The huge cabinet space which I never utilized to it’s full advantage.
(shame on me)
3) The brick floors which are easy to clean.

I also have some things I dislike about my kitchen.

1) I don’t have matching appliances. (I would love all black)
2) We have never gotten that trash compactor and the trash can sits in
the hole where a compactor should be.
3) The brick floors, which are easy to clean, are hard on dropped
glass, small appliances, and eggs.
4) Some of my cabinet door hinges have sprung and won’t remain closed.
5) The butcher block type counter space is easily marred.

These things could easily be remedied, except for dropped eggs.

We have retired the B&B for now. I can’t say it would never be one
again someday, but I am so thankful to have the Health Department
out of my kitchen.

The local Health Department was the main reason we shut down, along
with a few other reasons. When they came in and began to try to
regulate what appliances my kitchen would contain I told hubby
I had enough.

Of course if I had just gone along with them…
my appliances might match.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ilva
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 13:07:40

    Thanks! You have a really wonderful kitchen and I especially I like the way it is structured!

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 19:21:09

    You have a lovely kitchen!

    Reply

  3. gattina
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 07:21:50

    The first thing caugth my eye is the island too. Your kitchen is just adorable and cosy!

    Reply

  4. cooknkate
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 13:37:38

    Very nice, cp!! I love looking at everyone’s kitchen!

    Reply

  5. coffeepot
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 10:09:43

    Thanks for your nice comments guys.

    Gattina, cozy has never before been used to describe my home so thanks.

    lol..when it was being built in 1988 the locals were calling it the “mall” of the country.

    At 5200 sq feet it is a little large, especially back in 1988. These days there is more footage in new homes so it doesn’t stand out as much.

    Reply

  6. sandi @ the whistlestop cafe
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 15:49:58

    Great kitchen with room to feed friends, family and even a few strangers. ~Wait…there is no such thing as a stranger in a southern kitchen! Come visit mine : )

    Reply

  7. coffeepot
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 19:30:36

    sandi, I’m not sure you would say that if you had ever run a B&B.

    I had a couple that I am sure where pot heads.

    That is not kitchen pots I’m speaking of.

    Reply

  8. Glenna
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 20:18:45

    Your kitchen is fantastic! Really lovely. And I dig the idea of being able to “see” you preparing your dishes as I read your posts.

    Reply

  9. katie
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 08:14:32

    What a great looking kitchen!
    What a pain having to deal with the health department!

    Reply

  10. sher
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 02:44:54

    It’s beautiful! So spacious and I love the colors. Now I will picture you there when I read your posts!

    Reply

  11. veron
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 09:49:21

    love the openness of you kitchen. It is very homey…perfect for a B&B. The brick floors are beautiful!

    Reply

  12. Kristen
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 09:59:55

    You have an incredible kitchen. It looks so warm and inviting!

    Reply

  13. Kalyn
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 21:32:24

    Your kitchen looks very nice!

    Reply

  14. mandira
    Jan 12, 2007 @ 00:21:48

    You have a beautiful kitchen. Looks so spacious, warm and airy.

    Reply

  15. Anjali
    Jan 12, 2007 @ 05:48:43

    Its a different one as you ran a B&B. Lot of space too that we would like to have in our own kitchens.

    Reply

  16. Nicole
    Jan 12, 2007 @ 10:49:29

    Saw this on wordpress hot posts today…cool!

    Reply

  17. sandi @ the whistlestop cafe
    Jan 12, 2007 @ 13:08:12

    That is funny!- thanks for sharing, this has been fun.

    Reply

  18. Sally
    Jan 12, 2007 @ 15:55:29

    I like the way your kitchen “flows”. And to be able to work on one side the counter while DH works on the other – heaven! Got yourself a nice kitchen there – even if the appliances don’t match (neither do mine!).

    Reply

  19. coffeepot
    Jan 13, 2007 @ 18:52:50

    Ghee guys thanks for all the great comments. Doing this kitchen event with ilva was grand!
    Thanks ilva!

    Reply

  20. zulmy
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 18:51:21

    I loved, and I’m envious of how much space you have and lots of light. My appliances don’t match either, don’t worry about that. You have a very nice. lovely kitchen.

    Reply

  21. Tanna
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 21:44:13

    This looks like a wonderful kitchen, space for everyone!
    How funny you want a trash compactor – I just got rid of mine and had a trash drawer put in. The front is for trash the back for recycling and a small shelf across the top for ziplock bags and plastic wrap boxes. I never want a compactor again. My neighbor loves hers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
