Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Ham and Collard Greens-WHB

Collard Greens are sometimes considered “soul” food. They are slightly bitter
and a member of the Brassica family which also
includes broccoli and cauliflower.
They are often served in South USA on New Years Day.

I didn’t do my Collard Greens for New Years.

You know the old saying a day late, a dollar short? Well I was days
late and time short, so my Collards stayed in the fridge through
News Years to be fixed later.

When they did get fixed there were quite a few leftovers.

Being the “utilizer” I have become, I figured I better use the leftovers somehow.

I had some frozen skinless chicken breasts I picked up last store trip
in anticipation of after holiday lightening up.
I threw them collards in ther..(pardon me Southern drall yall)

Take the breasts and make incisions in the thickest side.
If partially still frozen it sort of helps with the cutting.
Place each breast half in a mixture of egg and a little milk.
Shake off excess.
Roll each one in a mixture of crushed wheat crackers.
Place each one on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.
Stuff each incision with a generous helping of collards
and reduce fat swiss cheese rolled up in ham slices.
Spray the tops with cooking spray
until the cracker seems moist and then bake in a 350
degree oven about 40-45 minutes until done and moist.

It was simple. They turned out great. I used up my leftovers.

This is my Weekend Herb Blogging (The brainchild of Kalyn) entry hosted this week by
little ole me

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gattina
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 01:21:11

    wheat crackers! So clever!

    Reply

  2. Sandeepa
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 02:53:57

    that’s a great idea to use green leafy things . Can I use other greens too ?
    thanks for hosting WHB

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 08:20:12

    I love stuffing chicken breasts…usually I use baby spinach and cheese, so I’m happy to find a new variation.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  4. Kalyn
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 11:57:20

    The chicken stuffed with ham and collards looks great. I was surprised to find how much I like collard greens when I tried them. This is an interesting way to sneak some greens in to a dish!

    Reply

  5. sher
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 13:41:35

    I love collards–so this is a great recipe for me!

    Reply

  6. veron
    Jan 17, 2007 @ 17:54:41

    I’ll eat my collard greens if they are stuffed like that! It looks like chicken cordon bleu(which I am fond of) except it has collard greens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
