Pickle Salad

I was watching Rachel Ray the other day and saw a great
way for me to use some of my canned pickles from last fall.

She used a combination of celery hearts, cucumber,
red and yellow peppers with a dressing of-

2 T sweet pickle relish ( it looked heaping to me)
2 T cider vinegar
about 1/3 c evoo- as she calls it ( extra virgin olive oil)

She then topped the salad with some of that cauliflower pickle
you see in the stores.

I didn’t make the cauliflower pickles last year but I did
do something called a “stone” pickle consisting of carrots, zucchini, and yellow squash.

So I used her direction and used my own relish and stone pickles.
I added store bought cherry tomato and radish to the fresh veggies.

I am pleased with the outcome.

It seemed a bit summery in the dead of winter
( we have a horrible mix of sleet and snow going on right now),
but it was a great way to use my pickles as I have way too many jars.

Next year I hope to do the cauliflower pickles (if only my
cauliflower grows properly..Some years you are a not so happy
camper in your garden).

If you are covered in pickles like I am, you might like to try it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeff
    Jan 21, 2007 @ 14:23:16

    hrm…seems interesting, but yeah…does look more summery to moi 🙂

    Reply

  2. veron
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 08:52:57

    You’ve got great looking jars of pickle!You made me just realize I have this humongous jar of pickle in my pantry.

    Reply

  3. Glenna
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 11:41:44

    Very interesting–looks really delicious!

    Reply

  4. sher
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 14:27:30

    That looks like it would be so refreshing. I would love that with beans.

    Reply

  5. Linda
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 16:03:40

    Yummy! I’m lovin’ your blog!!! So glad to have found you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

