Waiter There’s Something In My…

Well I am running late as today is the last day. I’m not sure if I need tag this with WTSIM but for the
Waiter There’s Something In My Stew event this month at Spittoon Extra
I am submitting my Lazy Day Stew. I am also having trouble with my tags so maybe I’m missing it here.

I call this stew lazy because I don’t brown the meat and just stick it
in the oven and forget it about 4 hours.

Take about 2 pounds of chuck steak and trim the fat off as you cut it
into stew size pieces, 2 cups carrot, 1 cup celery
and 1 large onion all chopped large. You can add mushrooms but I didn’t
have any this day.

Put it all in a covered dutch oven or, like I do, a cast iron
covered chicken fryer. (anything large enough that can go in
the oven covered and not bubble over)

Then mix your dry ingredients together.

About 3 Tablespoons flour, 1 Tablespoon fresh thyme,
1 teaspoon ground mustard, 1 teaspoon course salt,
1/2 teaspoon fresh ground pepper.

Pour the dry ingredients into your meat and vegetable mixture.

Then 1 cup dry red wine, 1 cup of water, and about 1 1/2 cups canned tomato
with liquid, broken up.

Pour the liquids over the meat mixture

Cover and place in a 325 degree oven for about 4 hours.

Well that is my lazy stew and my lazy post, and now I’ll send my lazy email to Spittoon and hope I get
it there in time and in order.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 22:01:41

    That looks really good! Lovely stew, late or not 🙂

    Reply

  2. cookingandrecipereviews
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 22:08:27

    Yum your pictures are so good looking that they made me hungry. Your stew is going into my list of dishes that need to be made during the cold weather. I’m thinking the next forecast for a heavy snow fall I’m going to be stocking up on chuck steak.

    Reply

  3. coffeepot
    Jan 23, 2007 @ 01:02:36

    Thanks guys. Sometimes it pays to be lazy.

    Reply

  4. Lisa
    Jan 28, 2007 @ 17:02:04

    That looks wonderful! Man, I’m going to have to try that. Perfect for the minus-wind-chill temps we’re having.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: The Ultimate Stew Recipe Collection | Spittoon Extra
  6. Trackback: The Ultimate Stew Recipe Collection - Spittoon Extra

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
