Spicy Asian Shrimp-WHB


I found a recipe for a cilantro rice in the last July issue of gourmet magazine.

I had to try it.

Because of the cilantro it is my thing for Weekend Herb Blogging,
hosted this week by Ulrike from Kuchenlatein.
Check this great site for more WHB this week.

The rice used processed cilantro, onion, shallot,
lime juice, evoo and jalapeno stirred into cooked rice.

I wanted something Asian to go along side. I thought shrimp
marinated in coconut milk and spices.

Alas I was out of coconut milk. I did have cream and flaked coconut.

I also had red chiles I dried from the garden last year.
I just string them with needle and thread, hang to dry and
grind them when ready to use.

This is the shrimp marinade –
1/2 C cream
1/4 C flaked coconut
1/4 t dried red chile flakes
2 T ground cumin
1 T ground coriander
2 cloves garlic minced
2″ piece fresh ginger grated
Juice and peel from 1 lime
salt and pepper.

I marinated for about 20 minutes then dumped it all in a
large skillet and cooked until they turned pink.

Before serving add fresh chopped cilantro.

It went great with the rice.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sher
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 14:18:20

    Shrimp and cilantro!!! Yum! That’s one of my favorite things to eat–so that looks fabulous to me.

    Reply

  2. Ulrike
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 14:51:42

    Thanks for participating the WHB. I belong to the people who think that cilantro tastes soapy, so I substitute it always with my favourite herb Petroselinum crispum 🙂

    Reply

  3. coffeepot
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 21:16:23

    Sher..me too!

    Ulrike, lots of people are that way..I guess that is parsley?

    Reply

  4. Lisa
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 11:12:59

    That shrimp looks and sounds so delicious. Lime, coconut, cilantro — I’m such a huge fan of all of those flavors. And the rice sounds great, too. Love the photos. I could just pick a whole bunch of shrimp out of that pan right now!

    Reply

  5. Lisa (Homesick Texan)
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 12:04:29

    This looks so light and lovely! Cilantro is my favorite herb, and I add a tablespoon (or two or three) to almost everything. And what a great trick, substituting cream and coconut flakes for coconut milk.

    Reply

  6. Glenna
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 23:19:22

    Sue, it looks fabulous!! I want some right now. Pretty please? 🙂

    Reply

  7. Helene
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 07:19:46

    Sue, it looks smashing. Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

  8. Anh
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 07:39:19

    This looks and sounds delicious! Love the photo, too!

    Reply

  9. cooknkate
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 10:11:22

    All good flavors together….delicious! I’ll take a plate too, please

    Reply

  10. coffeepot
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 12:23:12

    You guys are too kind. Thanks for the great comments as it was so simple.

    Come on over and I’ll fix you all some 🙂

    Reply

  11. veron
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 12:55:51

    That dish is making me drool! I just love shrimps with lime and cilantro. And it definitely has to go with rice!

    Reply

  12. Kalyn
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 22:50:13

    Sounds just delicious. Of course, you had me at cilantro. The top photo looks great with the rice and shrimp and piece of lime. Nice job.

    Reply

  13. simcooks
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 02:57:46

    I am glad I got a good tip here about “string (the chilies) with needle and thread, hang to dry and grind them when ready to use”. The fresh red chilies that I bought turned moldy in the fridge after some time. I will go by your suggestion the next time I cannot finish using my fresh chilies 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply

  14. Marieke
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 05:16:08

    2 years ago we had a chiles plant that did amazingly well. We dried the chiles and are still using them today. Your photo’s of this dish look so light and fresh….very nice!

    Greetings,

    Marieke

    Reply

  15. coffeepot
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 11:58:25

    Thanks all for the comments.

    Simcooks, If you hang them it needs to be a very dry place and keep an eye on them about every few days cut any out that look like they are molding.

    I hung and dried about 60 chiles and about 20 percent of that did mold, so keep a close watch and cut any bad out with kitchen shears pronto.

    Reply

  16. Katie
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 16:19:42

    What a gorgeous dish! Sounds good, too.

    I see you leave the tails on your shrimp, also.

    Reply

  17. Kristen
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 23:41:17

    That looks really good! I love the colors and I’m sure the flavor is great.

    Reply

  18. gattina
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 10:00:18

    although the new round of WHB is around the corner, glad that I haven’t missed this wonderful entry! Cilantro rice, caught my eyes right away!!! The whole asian fare is simply… superb!

    Reply

  19. nikki
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 18:57:08

    I DIDN’T LIKE IT AT ALL, I WAS SICK AFTER EATING IT. TO MUCH ONION AND THE CILANTRO TURNED MY TEETH GREEN

    Reply

  20. JENNIFER HOLZER
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 18:58:12

    THIS WAS TERRIBLE, BUT I AM BLONDE SO I GUESS I AM STUPID

    Reply

  21. JENNIFER HOLZER
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 18:58:38

    DUH, I AM INCOMPETENT

    Reply

  22. Trackback: WHB #68: Recap without pictures for very slow dial ups | kuechenlatein.com
  23. Trackback: Weekend Herb Blogging #68: Roundup | kuechenlatein.com

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

