Peanut Butter Recall

Should I eat this peanut butter?
The cap starts with 2111 but without the dash.

Boy what is this world coming to? Now I’ll have to start making my own peanut butter as if I’m not already making enough of my own stuff.
________
News Link

Food and Drug Administration investigators have been sent to a peanut butter plant in south Georgia after a salmonella outbreak that has grown to nearly 300 cases in 39 states since August. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta says it is believed to be the first salmonella outbreak associated with peanut butter. Doctor Mike Lynch of the C-D-C says about 20 percent of the 288 infected people have been hospitalized, but none has died. Officials say about 85 percent of the infected people said they ate peanut butter. Lynch says how salmonella got into the peanut butter is still under investigation. The Food and Drug Administration in Washington warns consumers NOT to eat certain jars of Peter Pan or Great Value peanut butter due to the risk of contamination. The F-D-A says the affected jars have a product code on the lid that begins with the number “21-11.” The agency says both the Peter Pan and Great Value brands are manufactured at a single plant in Sylvester by ConAgra. Great Value peanut butter made by other manufacturers is NOT affected. ConAgra says it is recalling products only as a precaution. It says none of its tests has indicated the presence of salmonella. The largest number of cases are reported in New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Tennessee and Missouri. The illness also has been reported in Georgia.
___
At least it is easy to make. Might even be fun since I’ve never tried it before.
1 1/2 c. unsalted roasted peanuts
1 tbsp. peanut oil

For smooth peanut butter:
Mix the peanuts with the peanut oil, and pour the mixture into the food processor.
Process the mixture until it’s very smooth.
Store your smooth peanut butter in a sealed container in the fridge. It will be good for 2 weeks.

For chunky peanut butter:
Take about 1/4 cup out of your 1 1/2 cups of peanuts and set them aside.
Mix the rest of the peanuts with the oil, and pour the mixture into the food processor.
Process the mixture until it’s very smooth, then stir in the peanuts that you had set aside.
Process a few seconds more to create the chunks in your chunky peanut butter.
Store your chunky peanut butter in a sealed container in the fridge. It will be good for 2 weeks.
Serves: 12

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Freya
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 14:12:27

    Hasn’t America just recovered from a contaminated lettuce outbreak too? We’ve just discovered that the main supplier of Turkeys and Turkey products has been spreading Bird Flu amongst his livestock – because the birds were imported. Makes me stick to my organic stance even more!
    Let us know how the PB turns out if you make it!

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 17:21:52

    Freya,
    The PB has been recalled so I won’t be eating it.
    I have an address to return the lid to receive a refund.

    I understand what you mean about organic but wasn’t the spinach outbreak an organic product?

    I think we all better learn to farm and raise chicken and cattle to be on the safe side(lol)

    I can see me tied to a milk cow that needs to be milked daily.

    Reply

  3. Alanna
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 10:04:12

    Yes, it IS real. When I saw this, I forwarded the information to my family of peanut butter lovers and every Mom I could think of. And yesterday the notes started arriving back, “The kids have had stomach issues for a week now. I checked the peanut butter jar, it was a match. We stopped the peanut butter. No more stomach issues.”

    And you are so right that salmonella/other contamination can happen in organic products too —

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Peanut Butter Recall Update « Coffee & Cornbread
  5. Glenna
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 00:41:58

    Glad you put the recipe on here. I’ve always wanted to make my own peanut butter. I haven’t eaten much of it since I became much more conscious about transfats (husband had an MI 3 years ago) and found out that commercial peanut butter, unless otherwise stated, is mixed with shortening to make it creamy. Yuck! Hey, okay, once in a while I like bakery buttercream with shortening, I can’t lie, but in my PB & J grosses me out. Silly, I know.

    Reply

  6. puunc
    Apr 09, 2007 @ 08:35:16

    Good site!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

