Peanut Butter Recall Update

Well my jar of tainted Peter Pan Peanut Butter has been recalled that I posted on here.

I never opened it but have an address to return the cap for a refund.

If you happen to have a jar of Peter Pan or Walmart brand Great Value PB that has a number on the cap starting with the numbers 2111 don’t eat it!

Throw it away and you can send the lid for a refund to-

ConAgra Foods
PO Box57078
Irvine, CA 92619-7078

I get more and more wary of food products daily.

We have been working more toward self sufficient ways. I never had that sort of upbringing as my mom didn’t cook much and dad was never a woodsy type guy.

My husband however was brought up that way. His family grew and slaughtered everything they ate. They even ground their own cornmeal and had a smokehouse and fresh eggs.

He tells stories of their milk cows getting out of the fence and eating wild onion and ruining the milk. They would wander for days until found and their sacks would be about to burst.

Like I said I can see me tied to a milk cow that needs daily milking. lol

I know we could make it this way only because of my husband ,and we are working toward being more self sufficient.

My husband is the one that taught me to can from our vegetable garden. He hunts and cuts wood and is that woodsy type guy my dad never was.

I have learned so much from him.

Thank you honey!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 23:47:47

    Isn’t it crazy to think peanut butter can cause all of this commotion?

    Reply

  2. gattina
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 07:44:07

    Sue, I think the world is really telling us something; going self-sufficient it’s not a bad idea. Your husband is such a fantastic guy!

    Reply

  3. Sue(coffeepot)
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 09:57:36

    Kristen, I have been thinking this way long before the peanut butter. I am not looking to be total sf but just inclined more that way. If you want to view a more total approach look at “Path To Freedom” blog in my sidebar. It is a great read. I’ll never give up my appliances unless I just have to.

    Yes gattina my hubby is great and the world is telling us something. Thanks.

    Reply

  4. sher
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 17:54:49

    Hey! Glad you didn’t eat any of it. You never know what’s lurking in out food.

    Reply

  5. Freya
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 15:55:01

    Going self sufficient is a great idea! My husband taught me about canning from watching his own Mom doing it when he was a kid. Makes you feel like a really professional cook too!

    Reply

  6. Katie
    Feb 22, 2007 @ 16:33:39

    Is nothing sacred anymore? Bad peanut butter? It’s enough to make me swear off everything processed…and I use so little now…please, leave me some indulgences….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
