Blackberry Cobbler

Mid to late summer our place is over run with blackberries. They are in the woods and around the ponds. Many of them get eaten by the wildlife that dominates our property. Many of them also end up in my freezer.

I always try and use them all by the next season, so when I ran across this cobbler recipe in the January issue of Southern Living magazine I had to make use of some of our stash.

I had never tried a cobbler with cream cheese in it before, but I have to proclaim it very tasty and a keeper for my household.

This serves 12 but I halved it simply because of diet. I didn’t want that much laying around the house because hubby is not a great fan of sweets.

Eeee gads!

Blackberry Dumpling Cobbler

2- 16 oz. packs frozen blackberries
2 cups sugar divided
1/4 cup butter
3- 8 oz. packs light cream cheese, softened
2/3 cup skim milk
2 1/4 cups baking mix
3/4 cup uncooked oats

Bring the blackberries, butter and 1 1/3 cups of the sugar to a boil and melt all sugar stirring.

Beat the cream cheese and remaining sugar with a mixer until fluffy. Add the milk, baking mix and oats mixing well.

Spread 2/3 of the oat mixture into a lightly greased 13×9 baking dish. Pour the blackberries mixture evenly over the oat mixture and then
dollop the remaining oat mixture on top for dumplings.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes or until golden brown.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cooknkate
    Apr 10, 2007 @ 08:58:05

    My hubby is a sweet freak with no self control. I am not allowed to bake most sweets which sometimes makes me sad; but if I could bake I would do this. I LOVE cobblers!

    Reply

  2. Scott
    Apr 10, 2007 @ 20:10:25

    Mmm…cobbler…

    Reply

  3. Glenna
    Apr 12, 2007 @ 23:57:27

    Sounds wonderful–love the addition of the cream cheese.

    Reply

  4. Freya
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 05:39:01

    I love how the blackberries are peeking through the crunchy cobblers! It looks wonderful!

    Reply

  5. sher
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 14:12:57

    That looks fabulous. My grandmother used to make a cobbler like that and it’s such a special memory for me.

    Reply

  6. Katie
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 15:29:59

    Berries are the only thing I will give up chocolate for – and blackberries are my absolute favorite.
    This looks yummy!

    Reply

  7. Kristen
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 21:22:42

    I love cobbler and I love blackberries. I never thought about making the two together. I bet this is awesome with a scoop of ice cream on top. Yummy!

    Reply

  8. Nancy
    Apr 21, 2007 @ 17:54:58

    I Love blackberry cobbler!! I will be sure to try this recipe out. Just found your blog and am really enjoying it.

    Reply

  9. maura
    Apr 26, 2007 @ 21:26:17

    Oh boy, does this look godd. Dang, that I have no blackberries in the freezer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
