Faux Fur, Faux Tarragon, and a Mess of Lettuce

I love Tarragon.

We are not able to grow Tarragon around our parts.
All French Tarragon in this home was picked up at the supermarket.

While I am not into fake fur or diamonds, I am into faux Tarragon.
Texas Tarragon, also known as Mexican Marigold.
It is easy to grow around these parts and mine is taking off.

While some people might tell the difference between the two in a recipe, I am not one of them.

Here is a shot of my Texas Tarragon in all it’s glory.

Now I guess I should post a recipe using Tarragon, but I often sway from what I should do.

Our lettuce and onions are coming on also so I had to fix our first mess of, what we call in these parts, scalded lettuce.
I have also heard it referred to as wilted lettuce.
My mom-in-law always called it scalded lettuce, so that is my take.

Just get together a big mess of freshly picked lettuce and onions.
Chop the onions, green top and all, into the lettuce.
You can also throw in some spinach, if you like, because it tastes great in there too.

Then fry up some crispy bacon and top the lettuce mess with the crumbled bacon.

Save those warm bacon drippings because with the drippings you add vinegar, water, Splenda or sugar to taste, and a little salt. While this dressing is still warm you drizzle it all over the mess of lettuce and onions.

Yum. What a great way to start our gardening season.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    May 09, 2007 @ 12:37:05

    My mom called it wilted lettuce – regardless of the name it’t wonderful!
    I’m going to fis some when I get home…
    Love your Texas Tarragon!

    Reply

  2. Susan from Food "Blogga"
    May 09, 2007 @ 19:14:38

    I’ve recently tried tarragon in scrambled eggs. A local farmer suggested it, and it’s quite delicious.

    Reply

  3. Sue -coffeepot
    May 10, 2007 @ 19:54:54

    Yes Katie most people do calll it “wilted”. Not sure why my mom in law called it “scalded”?

    It sure is good either way!

    Susan I can’t wait to try Texas Tarragon in scrambled eggs! What a great idea. Just the thought of it sounds great.

    Reply

  4. Freya
    May 12, 2007 @ 15:52:00

    Great tip about the faux tarragon! The salad looks great and I love wilted lettuce leaves!

    Reply

  5. Glenna
    May 13, 2007 @ 09:05:46

    Mmmmm…yummy. We called it wilted lettuce and I haven’t had it in ages. Now I really want some! Thanks for the info about the Mexican marigold. I didn’t knwo that but I do now. Great little tidbit.

    Reply

  6. Jeff
    May 16, 2007 @ 12:07:50

    Never heard of Texas tarragon before

    Reply

  7. Lisa
    May 29, 2007 @ 16:26:50

    Oh, yes, a wonderful way to start the season! I was just saying that the other day: Isn’t it wonderful to get these fresh salad greens and things and toss together a fabulous salad — so much better when everything has just recently been picked. Your salad, with the bacon dressing, sounds great. I will have to try that, using the drippings in the dressing.

    I’ve never heard of Texas tarragon. I love the French variety, though, and luckily have it growing in a barrel on the patio. It comes back every year, just like the chives…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

