Bean Sprouts

Bean Sprouts are good for you.

You don’t have to buy sprouts as they are so easy to do.

Just soak about 1 cup of beans or lentils for a day.

You then need 3 quart mason jars and coffee filters. Divide the soaked beans between the three jars and place the coffee filters on top secured with rubber bands.

Place the jars in a warm dark place for about 4 days, on their sides,….. and you will end up with sprouts.


after day 1

after day 3

after day 4

You need to wash them daily with warm water and drain well.

You can use lentil, alfalfa, radish, mustard, peas, limas, pintos. Just be careful not to get any bean or seed that has been treated with chemicals for the garden as this can be poisonous.

A really easy chow mein is to saute some onion and diced carrot in a small amount of butter. Add 1 can of reduce fat cream of mushroom soup and one cup of white wine. Add 2 T soy sauce and 1 T worcesteshire sauce with two cups of sprouts and whatever else you might like. I have done it with chicken or beef. I even did it with ground turkey and served it over chow mein noodles.

It was very good for something quick and easy. Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joe
    May 16, 2007 @ 20:50:38

    Very cool! Thanks for the process and photos… I’ve always wondered if they were hard to do!

    Reply

  2. Freya
    May 17, 2007 @ 07:03:54

    What a great idea! I thought you had to buy all the expensive equipment from your local health shop! I love sprouts but don’t have them very often as they are not popular over here! I’m going to make some this weekend!

    Reply

  3. Katie
    May 18, 2007 @ 03:32:36

    I also had no idea they were so easy. That probbly explains why I can’t buy them here. No Frenchwoman would pay for anything that simple! (LOL)

    Reply

  4. Susan from Food "Blogga"
    May 19, 2007 @ 08:10:09

    I buy sprouts at my farmers’ market, but I had no idea it was so easy to do at home. Thanks so much! I’ll have to try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
