SOS Help!

Please help if you can!

I planted savory for the first time this year and it is getting leggy and blooming and taking over.

I don’t know what to do with the stuff!

I have a recipe for savory butter that goes well on vegetables and pasta but what else can I do with it?


 


Savory Butter Spread

2 Tbsp Butter — Whipped
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 Tbsp grated Parmesan
2 Tbsp chopped fresh Savory

Blend together all ingredients and spread on vegetables or pasta.


 

If you can help, please post and leave a link so I can come snag the recipe. Thanks forever and ever!

I have not been online much since my grandbabies, and my herb garden is suffering also.

I need all the help I can get!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katiez
    Jun 15, 2007 @ 15:17:08

    Anything and everything. It goes well with green beans, tomatoes, potatoes and other vegetables. Put a bunch in with rice when you cook it, use it in salads and salad dressing.
    You can use it anywhere you use basil or marjoram.
    I usually end up freezing as much as I can because I like to drop it into rice and soups in the winter.
    I chop the leaves roughly and freeze in ice cube trays covered in water or chicken stock. When frozen, pop out and store in freezer bags.
    That help?

    Reply

  2. coffeepot(sue)
    Jun 15, 2007 @ 19:27:20

    Thanks Katiez. I never have used it before this. I had no idea it would grow like it has.

    Reply

  3. Jeff
    Jun 18, 2007 @ 11:12:12

    Eppp…looks like it could take over your house soon!

    Reply

  4. Robin
    Jun 18, 2007 @ 11:15:12

    My spices book, called Hints and Pinches (I love that title!) says summer savory goes well with any kind of bean, especially in a white bean salad. It also says try it in an omelet and on garlic bread. Hope that helps a little! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Christa
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 21:02:36

    The same thing happened to me last summer. I grew savory for the first time and it grew like mad, but then I didn’t know what to do with all of it. As others have said, it’s great with beans — like a green bean salad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

