Cabbage Roll and Nature Walk

It is amazing what one can find right in their own backyard.

I was on one of my nature walks outback of our home.

I ran upon these ferns that were as tall as me. They were growing alongside our wooded path, all grouped together like thoughts of safety in numbers. How beautiful!

On another note as this is suppose to be a food blog.

A way to use those outer cabbage leaves that you would normally trash are cabbage rolls. The outside leaves are tougher than the heart so this is the only way I ever use them. This recipe is a great way to use some of your garden basil, oregano, onions and cabbage. Fresh tomatoes are great in it too, but ours just aren’t ripe yet.

Stuffed Cabbage Leaves

6 cabbage whole leaves
1/2 pound uncooked lean ground beef
1/2 cup uncooked white rice
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup soft bread crumbs
1/2 teaspoon italian seasoning
1 medium onion — finely chopped
1 medium garlic clove — minced
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly-ground black pepper
2 teaspoon olive oil
1 pint jar canned diced tomatoes
1 cup chicken stock
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
2 tablespoon fresh chopped oregano
1/4 cup grated parmigiana cheese

Wrap cabbage leaves in moist paper towels and microwave on high for 2 minutes to soften. Cut off the thickest, white portion of the spine of each leaf, set aside.

Combine beef, rice, water, bread crumbs, spices, onion, garlic, egg, salt and pepper in a large bowl; mix well.

Spoon about 1/4 cup of beef mixture onto the center of each leaf. Fold up bottom of leaf to cover filling, tuck in sides and then continue rolling to make loose rolls.

Heat oil in a large pan over medium-high heat; add rolls and saute until golden brown about 5 minutes. Remove carefully and wipe pan of excess oil. Replace rolls then add tomatoes, chicken stock, fresh basil and oregano to pan. Bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook until cooked through, about 1 hour to reduce liquid. Sprinkle on cheese and serve when melted.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kalyn
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 10:23:45

    The cabbage rolls sound wonderful. That’s a dish I’ve eaten but haven’t cooked myself.

    Reply

  2. Katiez
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 15:27:51

    I love cabbage rolls, but have sort of forgotten about them. Thanks for the reminder!
    And so thrifty to use the outer leaves…well done!

    Reply

  3. Robin
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 15:07:36

    Oh my gosh! Can I move in with you? LoL, I am so sick of NJ, living with no backyard! It’s nice to see how much you appreciate your beautiful home scenery. 🙂

    Reply

  4. JMom
    Jul 09, 2007 @ 14:50:02

    What a pretty backyard you have!

    great idea about using the larger cabbage leaves for this stuffed recipe. My cabbages are almost ready. I think I’ll try stuffing some 🙂

    Reply

  5. megu
    Oct 17, 2007 @ 04:17:46

    I am impressed! You have inspired me – I may try to plan something once a week or so…I need to start slow.
    簡単ロールキャベツ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

