Turtle Soup

Here is a picture of a little guy I found munching around our house this morning.

I named him Soup because the first thing I thought was Turtle Soup.

I have never tasted Turtle Soup and I’m not sure I want to. I am open to new things however.

Soup will not be turned into soup as I only put him in a dish with fresh water and garden lettuce until I can show him to my husband. Soup doesn’t seem to want to eat the lettuce and, for the time being, will only hide under it.

My gosh! Soup is only an inch long!

After hubby sees him he will be turned back into the wild near one of our ponds.

We do have some ugly huge turtles worthy of soup in those ponds.

I snagged a turtle soup recipe from the internet and am storing it here for future reference, just in case I ever catch one of those huge turtle pond monsters.

The ugly huge turtles are one of the reasons I quit swimming in our ponds. As they sometimes say…Pay backs are hell.

Snag Link- Turtle Soup

Commander’s Palace Turtle Soup au Sherry
  • 10 ounces (2-1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 pound turtle meat, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 cup minced celery (4 stalks)
  • 2 medium onions, minced (2 medium)
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1-1/2 cups tomato purée
  • 1 quart
  • beef stock
  • NOTE: If turtle bones are available, add them to the beef bones when making the stock for this dish
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste, as needed
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 5 hard-boiled eggs, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon minced parsley
  • 6 teaspoons dry sherry
  • Melt 8 ounces (2 sticks) butter in a heavy saucepan. Add the flour and cook, stirring frequently, over medium heat until the roux is light brown. Set aside.
    In a 5-quart saucepan, melt the remaining butter and add turtle meat. Cook over high heat until the meat is brown. Add celery, onions, garlic and seasonings, and cook until the vegetables are transparent.
    Add tomato purée, lower heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the stock and simmer for 30 minutes. Add the roux and cook over low heat, stirring, until the soup is smooth and thickened. Correct seasoning with salt and pepper to taste. Add lemon juice, eggs and parsley.
    Remove from heat and serve. At the table, add 1 teaspoon sherry to each soup plate.

    8 Comments (+add yours?)

    1. Katiez
      Jun 24, 2007 @ 15:29:33

      There was Turtle Soup on the menu at one of the hotels we stayed at last week…. I passed. Don’t know why, I guess the foie gras sounded better…

      Reply

    2. Jeff
      Jun 25, 2007 @ 09:30:19

      Oh man…I don’t know…Turtles make me nervous

      Reply

    3. Scott
      Jun 25, 2007 @ 18:48:58

      I’ve never had turtle soup, either. I’m guessing that getting the pound of turtle meat off the turtle is a challenge…

      Reply

    4. Max Kelemen
      Jun 27, 2007 @ 15:15:56

      Hi –

      I am writing to inform you about Share Our Strength’s Great American Bake Sale, a national campaign that mobilizes Americans to help end childhood hunger by having a bake sale in their community. Now in its’ fourth year, over 1 million people have participated in the campaign to aid the 12 million children in America who are at risk of hunger. The campaign, which runs through August, was recently promoted by celebrity chef Rachael Ray on ABC.

      Share Our Strength’s Great American Bake Sale offers a unique way for you to connect with your readers about the severity of childhood hunger in America while providing them with a simple and fun way of how they can fight it. Perhaps you can include information about the campaign in a section of this Coffee and Cornbread blog? I could not find a contact email to reach you, but I can provide you more information campaign if you are interested.

      Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

      Max Kelemen
      Share Our Strength
      mkelemen@strength.org
      (800) 761- 4227

      Reply

    5. Scott
      Jun 28, 2007 @ 20:48:29

      Oh, and I’ve tagged you for a meme. Go to
      http://sugarandlard.wordpress.com/2007/06/28/too-much-information/
      for details.

      Reply

    6. bluezebra
      Jul 15, 2007 @ 09:09:37

      Oh wow! Turtle soup is one of my very favorites! The recipe you have is from Commander’s Palace. CP is owned by a family named Brennan who also own restaurants of the same name, Brennan’s.

      Their restaurants are famous in the South, at least in Louisiana and Texas and their turtle soup is legend. Some of my best memories are having Sunday brunch with my family on a lazy summer morning at Brennan’s in Houston or in New Orleans. And turtle soup is a “must have” as part of the meal…along with mimosas and eggs sardou! It is a gracious dish with full overtones and more subtle undertones of the unctious and ubiquitus South.

      Thanks for sharing!

      Reply

    7. Sue (coffeepot)
      Jul 17, 2007 @ 03:35:04

      Thank you bluezebra for sharing your brunch memories. They sound so wonderful. I would love to read your blog if you have one.

      Reply

    8. bluezebra
      Jul 25, 2007 @ 11:03:22

      Hi Sue! I would L-O-V-E for you to read it and if you like it, tell all your friends lol! I only started it this weekend and I’m sorry to say, I need to work on getting my photos “unblurry”! 😉

      http://www.mulliganstewme.blogspot.com

      Hope to see you there, Sue, and would love to have your voice added to the site with insights, recipes, tips, whatever!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

        My Flickr Photos

