Tabbouleh and Over-Nighter

Hubby and I took an over-nighter to Natural Bridge. A few pictures.

Along the way via Blueridge Parkway. A place called Ravens Roost.

The Bridge

Wild laurels

When we got home I was so tired and the garden was overflowing with parsley, cucumbers, onions and mint so I fixed Tabbouleh.

We do not yet have ripe tomatoes. I sometimes sub dried tomatoes so that is what I did.

I like Tabbouleh with more veggies than wheat so my recipe does not have as much bulgher wheat as most.


Tabbouleh -adapted by me

3/4 C Burgler Wheat
water to cover
2 large cucumbers diced, unpeeled
scallion to taste diced with tops ( I like about 1 large)
1 C fresh parsley chopped
1/4 C fresh chopped mint
About 4 large dried tomato chopped
DRESSING
2 t salt or to taste
1 t pepper
1/4 C salad oil or olive oil
Juice from 1 lemon

Cover the wheat with water and microwave on High about 2 minutes. Allow to cool to room temp.
Chop all veggies, parsley, and mint. Stir into cooled wheat.
Wisk together the dressing and pour over the wheat mixing well. Adjust salt to taste.
Allow to sit for about 1 hour to blend flavors.
Serve at room temp or refrigerate. Serves about 4.
(Note- if using fresh tomatoes instead of dried, don’t add them until ready to serve)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katiez
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 10:14:14

    Lovely salad – but don’t you wish you could have eaten it sitting on that rocky table with that gorgeous view?

    I’ve only been on part of the BlueRidge Parkway. Incredibly beautiful area!

    Reply

  2. kevin
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 10:44:30

    That’s what I’m planning for lunch — first of the season.

    Reply

  3. Jeff
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 10:50:21

    My wife would devour that!

    Reply

  4. sher
    Jul 05, 2007 @ 03:15:49

    My husband loves this, and I haven’t fixed it in some time. Thanks for reminding me to make it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
