Garden Update


Update on our gardens.

The herb garden is going a bit wild.

Herb Garden

We have been harvesting lettuce, onions, cucumbers, squash, radish and peppers for quite some time, but the watermelon has just started to bloom and form.

watermelon


Watermelon Bloom
I am amazed the watermelon even came up as it was seed I harvested 3 years ago that I had misplaced and just found this spring.

We are harvesting green beans and carrots.

I roasted green beans for the first time and they were great.

Just put them in a covered oven proof skillet and put on olive oil, kosher salt, onion, a little garlic and top it all with lemon slices. Cover and place in a 400 degree oven about 20-25 minutes or until the doneness you prefer. Top it with parmesan when they come out. They were so good.

The tomatoes are coming on very well and I will soon be covered up. I couldn’t find Romas this year so I am trying some pear tomatoes for the first time.

German Pinks my favorite tomato!

pear tomato
I probably won’t care for them like Romas.

The corn is topping and we will soon have fresh corn.

Corn Tops
I am so happy because last year we had no corn because of mole problems. If you have mole problems those stakes that you place in the ground that vibrate work wonders. They are well worth trying.

I am sad to say my seedling okras met their demise. You can’t win them all you know.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suburbanchef
    Jul 10, 2007 @ 12:46:52

    I am thinking about starting my own garden, but I know it is late in the season. Do you know what you can plant about now (besides bulbs – garlic & onions)?

    Reply

  2. Kalyn
    Jul 10, 2007 @ 14:00:54

    Very jealous of the watermelon! I’ve never had luck with that.

    Reply

  3. Katiez
    Jul 10, 2007 @ 15:45:30

    I’m so jealous of everything! Happy for you… sad for me. My garden is starting to grow but we need some days that get higher than 70F…and some sunshine. My corn is NOT knee high yet!
    I must cultivate patience. I must cultivate patience. I must cultivate patience…. It’s hard. (yo quote Dubya)

    Reply

  4. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 10, 2007 @ 18:49:29

    Hey suburbanchef plant lettuce and squash and pumpkin.

    Of course it depends on your own area.

    I planted my pumpkin too early last year and they matured too soon but this year the plants are just starting.

    Hey Kalyn and Katiez. I know you both have green thumbs. Sometimes the weather doesn’t cooperate.

    Reply

  5. Scott
    Jul 11, 2007 @ 19:45:42

    The roasted green beans sound great, we’re gonna give them a try.

    Scott

    Reply

  6. Caffienated Cowgirl
    Jul 12, 2007 @ 14:24:56

    Such lovely photos…You’ll enjoy the pear tomatoes. I grew them for the first time last year and they quickly became one of my favorites.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Watermelon Salad with Feta, Pine Nuts and Basil-WHB « Coffee & Cornbread

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

