All Is Well

It was one of those mornings.

You get up and perk your coffee and go out on the porch to sip the dark brew in those old rockers.

The cane seating is wearing thin in places in those old rockers. One of them belonged to my husbands mother. His brother had initialed the back of the headrest with something sharp as a kid. We painted over it with black paint when we recieved the chair. The initial gives the rocker character.

This morning the mist was coming up off the ponds and deer stood on the hill and watched as I invaded their territory. They didn’t run. They are so used to us now they won’t dash off until you venture a tad too close.

I was at peace with the world.

I thought that this was the peace of the Lord that passes all understanding.

As I sipped I began to think of all the bustle I used to have to endure with my career. It seems so far off now.

I don’t care much for breakfast and rarely eat it. The years I spent toiling in it burned me a bit.

This morning after the last drop of coffee and the deer went searching for more interesting pasture, I made myself breakfast.

One simple boiled egg in a tarragon white sauce.

All is well with my soul.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kalyn
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 12:01:33

    Me too. It’s a good feeling isn’t it?

    (Of course this could all change for me when school starts up again!)

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 14:37:12

    Yes Kalyn it could change in a heartbeat but I have had a most wonderful day so far.

    Getting away from the rat race has been wonderful for me.

    Reply

  3. Jancd
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 22:17:28

    I retired this May from 23 years of teaching and I am also quite happy with my decision. I have not had that many lazy mornings yet, but I can see them in the horizon. Have a great day.

    Reply

  4. Caffienated Cowgirl
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 04:06:39

    Lovely. Enjoy any peace that comes your way…and the coffee too!

    Reply

  5. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 09:10:12

    Jancd,
    23 years is a long time. While I didn’t run the B&B but 7 years I did have some prior experience in the hospitality and breakfast industries. I don’t think I would have lasted so long teaching though. Must have been hard.

    Cowgirl ,
    you have a good day too. Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  6. cooknkate
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 18:09:25

    I could just feel the peace and tranquility in your writing. Sounds wonderful. I have had some of those mornings as well lately. Summer is so nice for quiet, early morning reflection.

    Reply

  7. Blue Zebra
    Jul 22, 2007 @ 22:39:55

    This is a lovely photo and love your writing. The photo reminds me so much of the misty cool mornings in the Texas Hill Country (Edwards Plateau Region and Frio River Area) where I spent many summers during my childhood.

    I still miss it everyday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
