Cherry Obsession

I have always wanted a cherry tree.

I was obsessing over these beautiful Bing cherries I bought at a steal of a sale.

Aren’t they beautiful?

I didn’t know what I wanted to do with them but decided on a Fruit Crisp idea I got from our local paper. The paper recipe used a mixture of berries, white flour and sugar… but I used only the cherries, wheat flour, and brown sugar.

I also added a bit of lemon juice.

I then planted the cherry pits in a tub outdoors. If they grow I will keep this blog dated, if not forget it.

I have always wanted a cherry tree.


Cherry Crisp

FILLING
2 pounds Bing Cherries pitted
1/4 C brown Sugar
1/4 C wheat flour
1/4 t cinnamon
small amount of lemon juice
TOPPING
1 C rolled Oats
1/2 C Wheat Flour
1/2 C Brown sugar
pinch of salt
1 stick butter ( cut into small pieces)

Preheat oven to 350.
Gently combine the filling and place in a 9 inch pie plate.
Combine the topping and sprinkle all over the filling.
Bake about 40 minutes or until top is browned and filling bubbles.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katiez
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 12:34:57

    Don’t know if this will make you feel better, but we have 3 cherry trees, 2 sweet and one sour. I haven’t a clue what to do with the sour cherries but there the only ones we ever get to see. The birds eat the rest so fast we haven’t a chance. We were really careful this year, checking twice a day. There was a hint… and they were gone…
    Maybe I should think about feeding the birds… to the hawk!

    Reply

  2. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 14:39:21

    Katiez how horrible! I guess we would have the same problem bacause we are over run with birds here.

    Reply

  3. cooknkate
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 18:07:52

    I just love sweet cherry season. This year they have been especially delicious and I don’t even hesitate in the store to check the price. I just grab a bag and go. I could eat them until I keel over with delight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
