Meet Lurch

Meet Lurch.


Lurch

Lurch is my pet/sourdough starter. I named him Lurch because he had to
lurch around my kitchen a while to grow.

As I contemplated self sufficient ways, the thought of bread making
throughout the centuries came to mind.

One did not throw in a packet of yeast each time they
made bread but relied on sourdough starters.

This was right down my ally since ..

1- self reliant ways are a goal of mine
2- no need to keep buying yeast ( at least not as much… But I
must have some on hand for emergency situations –
example..Forgetting to set Lurch out to proof in time?) so that cuts supermarket time and cost

I scoured the net for sourdough starters and began my own
pet/starter.

Now this bread site I used told me to start Lurch with just warm water
and flour. It said it was simple. They also said to consider your starter a “pet” hence the name.
I fed Lurch and watched Lurch.

After about a week Lurch certainly smelt sour but was too
lazy to use. A bubble here and a bubble there did not in my
mind seem worthy of bread.

That was when I, being tired of feeding a seemingly border
line pet/starter, gave Lurch a boost with some yeast.

My gosh.. There are tons of sourdough starters out there that
use a boost of yeast or yogurt for the culture.

I felt like I was cheating a bit but once Lurch jumped into
activity I no longer felt so bad.

Here is my first Lurch inspired bread
and Lurch is still alive and well in the fridge for next time.
I believe he will make an awesome pizza crust too.


Lurch inspired bread

Lurch inspired bread with salad

Now all I do is remember to feed him once a week and remember to
set him out to make sponge when needed.

One more mark toward self reliant ways.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katiez
    Jul 25, 2007 @ 15:20:36

    I like a pet that responds well!
    I really like a pet that you can chill down and only feed once a week.
    My girl dogs would not be happy, but I’ll think about…. they could do with a bit of a diet… But then, so could I…hmmm)

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Jul 26, 2007 @ 15:28:57

    That’s beautiful bread! And — “Lurch” — I love it. I’ve never worked up the nerve to fool around with sourdough starter…

    Reply

  3. Susan from Food "Blogga"
    Jul 26, 2007 @ 19:40:37

    Looks like I’ve gotta find a Lurch for my kitchen now. Wow! That bread looks fantastic!

    Reply

  4. Blue Zebra
    Jul 26, 2007 @ 21:36:15

    Hiyas and love the name! I too started a sourdough starter this summer. Mine is Sir Stinky. LOL, I loved the idea of being self-sufficient and also saving money on bread.

    Not to mention the bread is TDF!

    Your bread is beautiful and I know you must be such a proud “parent”!!!!

    Reply

  5. Blue Zebra
    Jul 26, 2007 @ 21:38:08

    I forgot to mention, you definitely should try Katie’s Sourdough English Muffins on my blog. You’ll find them on the first post. They are really awesome and on a scale of 1-10, are about a 3 maybe? (cuz you do have to measure) 😉

    Take care and talk again soon!

    Reply

  6. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 27, 2007 @ 10:18:36

    Hey Blue Z I will try the muffins.

    I also am going to try to go all the way with a Lurch II a bit later. I think I will have more patience with Lurch II now that I have Lurch to play with.

    I truly do want a real wild yeast starter…eventually.

    Reply

  7. Sue (coffeepot)
    Jul 27, 2007 @ 10:29:00

    Hey Blue Z

    I hope you see this. I hope you will consider going into your blog settings and changing your comment section to where outsiders like myself using wordpress can comment.

    At this time it is only set for blogger in network comments and I can’t post.

    Reply

  8. bluezebra
    Jul 27, 2007 @ 10:43:49

    Hi Sue,

    I changed it last night to anybody. Would you do me a favor and try it again?

    You can email me at azurezebra@gmail.com

    Sorry, I’m just learning how to do all this stuff! 😉

    TIA!

    Reply

  9. Simona
    Jul 31, 2007 @ 10:46:34

    I have just started making bread and I am not yet ready for a Lurch, but it was fun to read about your positive experience.

    Reply

  10. Caffienated Cowgirl
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 09:18:39

    Fabulous! I need to make a Lurch too…hard to find decent sourdough in this part of the world (such a shock for a Californian!).

    Reply

  11. Sue (coffeepot)
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 22:33:04

    May he rest in peace guys as lurch laid down and died after only three sponges. I am working on Lurch II as I speak though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
