2nd Julia Child Birthday Event

Coffee & Cornbread is a little over a year old.

The first blog event I entered was one by Champaign Taste
celebrating Julia Child’s birthday.

I had such a great time in that event and Lisa is again
holding a Julia birthday event #2.

I still have only one of Julia’s cookbooks, but I do have a
large collection of old Food and Wine magazines.

You can hardly pick one of these magazines up without running into
an article by Julia Child.

As picking up only four today, I ran upon two articles
by Julia.

One article was of special interest to me because it showed me
that I am not alone in being wary of homemade mayonnaise
through the summer months.

The article I am blogging of was in July 1995 issue where Julia was
giving a cooked mayonnaise recipe for her “All- American Chicken Salad”.

Quote from the article…

“Let us start with the mayonnaise, which needs special attention
during hot weather so that it will resist the harmful bacteria that
raw eggs may develop.”

I have caught flack from other foodie types voicing my own
mayonnaise phobias.

At any rate I will now go into Julia’s “Hard Boiled Egg Mayonnaise”
for her special birthday event hosted by Lisa at Champaign Taste.

The mayo was very good tasting and a simple tip I love. I plan to use it in much more than
chicken salad. I did add paprika in the final seasonings
simply because I like paprika in homemade mayo.

I plan to try Julia’s Chicken Salad that goes with this mayo later.
Right now it is too hot to roast the chicken.

Entry by mayo phobic Sue “aka: coffeepot” at Coffee & Cornbread.

“Hard Boiled Egg Mayonnaise” by Julia Child
but in my own words.

Measure 2 tablespoons of flour into a 6 cup saucepan.

Whisk in 1/2 cup cold water until smooth.

Whisking over moderate heat bring the sauce to a boil gently for 30
seconds.

You want this sauce stiff but not thick.

Remove the sauce and break in one whole raw egg then
return over low heat whisking for 15 seconds.

Scrap this sauce into your food processor.

Add 1 teaspoon each of salt, Dijon mustard, white wine vinegar and
fresh lemon juice.

Add a couple of grinds of fresh white pepper and then drop
in 2 hard boiled egg yolks.

Process this for about 15 seconds until smooth and then
with the processor still running, add one cup of olive oil
in a very thin stream.

Take it slowly because if you add the oil too fast you can break
emulsion and it will be too thin.

Adjust your seasonings and refrigerate for up to a week.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Aug 01, 2007 @ 07:39:13

    I’ve never heard of hard-boiled-egg mayo! How great. It looks luscious; nice photos. Thanks for entering the event!

    Reply

  2. Katiez
    Aug 01, 2007 @ 15:17:45

    That’s a new one for me, too! But I don’t have an aversion to the regular mayo – or the raw egg in a proper Caesar Salad…. I just don’t think about lol

    Reply

  3. Blue Zebra
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 13:37:18

    Sue, what a great entry!!! And how classic Julia! I love the recipe and will indeed try it. It’s so haaaawt here, Lordamercy!

    You know, her technique brings a question to my mind…is this what people in England refer to as a “salad cream” by any chance? Anyone, anyone?

    I asked if I could participate in the birthday bash! 😀

    Hope I get to!

    Reply

  4. Sue (coffeepot)
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 22:29:49

    Thanks guys.

    Blue Z , I am not familar with salad cream.
    I am sure you can enter an entry you just need to let Lisa know your URL so she can add it to the lineup before the closing date.

    Reply

  5. Lori Lynn at Taste With The Eyes
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 22:45:50

    Hi Sue – I got interested in blogging from Lisa’s Champaign Taste. A several months back, I was searching the web for Julia Child dinner ideas and Lisa’s site appeared with the first event. I was especially interested in it because I lived in Champaign while in college.

    Now, I started my own blog in June. The Julia Child event is the only event that I have participated in to date, but I find this so very much fun, I look forward to more blogging and meeting food bloggers.

    I intend to try your Julia mayo recipe, thanks for that!

    Reply

  6. lucette
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 10:08:39

    Very interesting recipe–I’m a little salmonella-phobic myself. I made mayo last year for this event, and I ate it gingerly, looking for symptoms (which happily didn’t appear).

    Reply

  7. maggie
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 11:02:33

    Interesting technique there.

    I’ve never liked mayo – that is, the kind from a jar – but I do rather like it homemade – I may try this variant.

    Nice post!

    Reply

  8. Sue
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 14:05:49

    lori, lucette and maggie,

    thanks for stopping by.

    i look forward to your event entries to read

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

