No Knead

I don’t know what has gotten into me. I have been dreaming about baking bread nights!

It must be some sort of sign. In the meantime after only three sponges my poor Lurch, that I posted about a couple of posts back, laid down flat and died.

This was a good thing because it made me even more determined to birth a true wild yeast starter. I will post about that later because I believe I found the problem with some help from a wonderful blog. I will post all when and if my Lurch II survives.

Until I am sure, I figured I would try the no-knead bread that hit the airwaves last year. I think it was last year but I only found the recipe recently while surfing.

Read about it at The Wednesday Chef, which is where I finally decided to try it even though it has been posted all over blogdom.

I haven’t tasted mine yet but here is a picture.

I am letting it cool to use with those tomatoes in the background for lunch grilled muenster cheese sandwiches.

I believe it will also go well with my salad and blueberries. My tomatoes are coming in as you can see.

I love this salad. Just put together what salad vegetables you wish and toss it with homemade italian dressing. Top that with blueberries and blue cheese then drizzle some honey over it all.

A very simple lunch to go with a very easy bread. I hope the bread tastes as good as it looks.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kitchen-note
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 11:16:33

    i will try bread and salad. lovely

    Reply

  2. Blue Zebra
    Aug 02, 2007 @ 13:41:08

    Sue your bread and salad look so inviting and simply all about summer!!! It’s elegantly simple which makes it all the more complex! And btw, I bet Julia would adore sitting down to share it. Now go open a bottle of wine and pour yourself a glass to go with it because you deserve it. Masterful!

    I really like the no-knead bread recipe. And you should look up the fresh loaf http://www.thefreshloaf.com . They have wonderful support for starting starters. Stinky pretty much arose due to their help!

    What is the salad recipe por favor? đŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. maggie
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 11:05:13

    That bread is an amazing thing. And you are brave to be baking in August!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

