Salsa To Order

I personally love my salsa more like a pico de gallo where the veggies are
fresh and chopped without touching a stove top.

My husband however prefers the cooked salsa from a jar. He likes a
“thick” salsa and says pico de gallo is too thin.

I should say he “preferred” the salsa from a jar until I began making
salsa to order.

As you can see this salsa will stick to a tortilla chip without
being cooked down for 2 or more hours.

I can cook this salsa in about 10 minutes. A longer cooked salsa does blend flavors,
but this “quick” salsa fits our lifestyle to a tee.

The reason I named this salsa “To Order” is because I use a
secret thickening agent and it gets thick in a heartbeat.

The secret agent is cornmeal.

Salsa To Order- recipe by Sue Edwards

1 large tomato (or 2 medium size),quartered
1 large hot pepper, seeded
1 medium onion, cut into quarters
2 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon fresh chopped cilantro
2 tablespoons lime juice
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon sugar
pepper to taste
3 tablespoons cornmeal

Place all ingredients but the cornmeal in a food processor
and blend until chopped and chunky.

Place this in a saucepan and bring to a boil.

Boil about 5 minutes and then sprinkle with the cornmeal.
Continue to boil until thick, about another couple minutes.
Adjust salt, pepper and sugar to taste.

Pour into a serving bowl and cool to room temperature
to serve with chips.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Blue Zebra
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 10:06:32

    Hi Sue!
    Nice lookin’ salsa recipe. I will try the cornmeal trick next time I make ours. I usually make raw salsa in the food processor for “salsa” and then I also make a pico. Have never tried cooking it…does it keep longer in the fridge?

    BZ

    Reply

  2. Katiez
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 11:18:36

    What a good idea – polenta in the salsa…. poetic, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
