English Muffins and Baltimore

I was so glad my sourdough starter peaked when it did.

Hubby is a big fan of all Boston sports and we took a trip to Baltimore
for the Redsox / Orioles game. We had a blast. There are a few pictures of Baltimore at the end of
this post. I have been to Boston but it was my first visit to Baltimore.

I knew if my starter didn’t peak it would lay without a feed for several
days.

I couldn’t wait to get back from our trip to try the English Muffins
Blue Zebra posted.
Recipe Link

I tried to do my own English Muffins many years ago when I ran my
Bed & Breakfast. I used Julia Child’s recipe. It was a flop and got thrown out.
I am sure it was my fault and not Julia’s recipe but I never ventured into
English Muffins after that again.

I can say that this recipe was great. I am older and wiser than
when I tried years ago so that could have much to do with it,
but I am so glad my starter can make such wonderful English Muffins.

I did have to finish off in the oven like Blue Zebra suggested.
The finished product would have been too dark if I had done it all on the
stovetop.

English Muffin Photos


English Muffins

Coffee & Cornbread McMuffins

Baltimore Photos


View of ESPN Sports Bar and Hardrock Cafe from the Bay

View of Baltimore from the Stadium

Boats docked in the Bay

The scoreboard

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ulrike
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 13:48:09

    Why don’t you feed your starter again and join the BBD#03?

    http://ostwestwind.twoday.net/stories/4040930/

    Reply

  2. Blue Zebra
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 14:35:22

    Oh wow Sue! They turned out beautiful!!! I would love to take the credit for this recipe. 😀 But it was my friend Katie over at The Fresh Loaf who I give credit to. She’s an amazing baker!

    Your McMuffins look so great! I wanna take a bite out of ’em! Don’t they taste so much more amazing than any MickeyD’s version?

    I had trouble with keeping them from getting too brown as well and so found the oven a great way to finish baking them. I don’t think there is any loss in texture.

    Love the Baltimore piccys, I have a good friend who lives there and loves it!

    Glad you’re back and had a great time.

    BZ

    Reply

  3. Katiez
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 15:43:52

    I want those McMuffins! You could ship them Fed Ex….I’m sure they’d be fine!

    Reply

  4. Sue
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 04:37:45

    Hey guys thanks.

    Ulrick I would love to join in but I don’t have the rye flour. I might get a chance to pick some up before the deadline but I am not certain.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: In The USA, tis The Season for Tomatoes « Coffee & Cornbread

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
