Braised Lima Beans with Tomato and Parsley- WHB

Question- What did the little pig say while laying on a hot beach?
Answer- ” I’m Bake’n ”

It has been 100 degrees in the shade around our parts.

There is a bean in our garden that seems to love
hot weather. The Lima.

Limas are my Weekend Herb Blogging entry. Weekend
Herb Blogging
is being hosted by Zorra at Kochtopf
this week.

You can read the WHB rules at Kalyn’s Kitchen and join in the fun.

I love fresh Lima Beans. The only part of a fresh Lima I dislike is
shelling. The pod can be a bit tough on the fingernails
so I slit the side of the pod with a sharp knife.

Limas are said to contain cyanide compounds, so they must be cooked
thoroughly. Cooking is suppose to turn it to gas to be
driven out of there. You don’t want to eat these beans raw.

This is one of my favorite Lima recipes. It is a Weight Watcher
recipe. I sub real butter for the margarine and fresh cooked
garden Limas for the frozen. I also sub curly parsley when necessary.
My flat leaf has all gone to seed.

It is very good tasting and good health wise also
as lima beans provide virtually fat-free high quality protein.

Enjoy!

Braised Lima Beans with Tomato and Parsley (2.59 WW Points)

Recipe By :Weight Watchers International, Inc.
Serving Size : 4

2 teaspoons margarine
1 cup chopped onions
2 1/4 cups frozen baby lima beans — thawed
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup diced plum tomatoes
1/4 cup Italian parsley — chopped

Place medium nonstick skillet over medium heat 30 seconds;
add margarine and heat 30 seconds more. Add onions and cook,
stirring occasionally, until translucent, 4-5 minutes.

Add lima beans, 1 cup water, the thyme, salt and pepper. Simmer,
covered, until beans are very tender, 15 minutes. Add tomatoes and
heat through. Stir in parsley and serve.

NOTES : Recipe from Weight Watchers Cut The Fat Cookbook

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zorra
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 08:38:36

    I’m bake’n, too. 😉 Delicious recipe!

    Reply

  2. Kalyn
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 11:09:12

    It’s hovering around 100 F here too. I’m impressed that you’re growing lima beans. I’m not at all sure I’ve ever had them fresh. I bet they are good!

    The parsley has pretty much gone to seed here too, and next year I can tell you I’m planting a lot more parsley. In fact I’m thinking of planting some more seeds this year, since we have a lot of hot weather left.

    Reply

  3. Tanna
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 11:22:53

    Limas are really lovely! For some reason I don’t remember to look for them. Limas are now on my list so I can try this one.

    Reply

  4. Blue Zebra
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 13:11:22

    Sue your piccys are enough to make a lima convert outta me! For some reason they were never my favorite as a kid? But I’ve never seen them in tomatoes either so I will have to give this a try! TIA! Love the piccys!!!

    Reply

  5. The 2 Witches
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 16:16:54

    I personally hate lima beans but that recipe looks so good I may just have to give it a try … especially as I am blessed with children who DO like them.

    Mama Kelly

    Reply

  6. Katiez
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 12:10:02

    I love limas… and with tomato yum! They looks sooo good. I’ve only had the frozen, though… Maybe I can grow them here…

    Reply

  7. Sue
    Aug 19, 2007 @ 21:41:16

    Hey guys you all need to try them as they are so good.

    Kalyn I am hoping my parsley will replant itself..lol

    I never seemed to be able to plant parsley from seed but had to finally buy plants this year to have any.

    Maybe since they are now established? wish wish

    Reply

  8. Helene
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 14:59:19

    I love limas, and I´ll try your recipe, as soon as I´ve more time. :))

    Reply

  9. sher
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 02:38:26

    Yummmm! Most people who are raised in the South love limas and butter beans. And the ones you grow yourself are heaven!!!! So sweet and buttery!

    Reply

  10. JMom
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 16:42:32

    I love lima beans, and I love shelling them! It’s kind of meditative when you have an afternoon with nothing to do but sit in the backyard shelling beans 🙂

    Reply

  11. coffeeandvanilla
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 05:43:14

    I have never tried yet lima beans… they look similar to broad beans, I wonder if they taste similar too (?)

    Greetings, Margot

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
