In The USA, tis The Season for Tomatoes

I have been covered up in tomatoes and so busy roasting, freezing and canning.

My favorite way to utilize tomatoes is to first roast them.

I just wash and cut them into equal sizes. Top them with onion and spray it all down with an olive oil spray. Then salt well and sprinkle some dried oregano and basil on them. I roast them in a 350 degree oven about 1 1/2 – 2 hours depending on how many are in the pan. I stir a couple of times during the roasting.

The aroma in the house makes your mouth water.

I then freeze them for use later in sauces, soups or stews. Or I refrigerate to use in recipes.

The above photo is a mac and cheese layered with roasted tomatoes and then topped with tomato slices. The roasted tomato just jazz it up a bit. Topped with fresh chopped basil or oregano, ( I used oregano in the above) it is almost a meal in itself.

In the below photo I just topped some of those english muffins I blogged about a few posts back. I melted Mozzerella cheese on top and garnished with fresh basil and parmesan.

Gosh, there are a slew of ways to use roasted tomatoes. They just seem to make any recipe calling for tomato just a little special.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blue zebra
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 10:14:28

    Sue those look beautiful. I am hoping to make some roasted tomato sauce this week!

    What kind of mozzarella do you use? It looks so lovely and gooey! Mine never seems that gooey?!!!

    Doncha just luvvvvvvv summer mater season??!!

    Reply

  2. Katiez
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 15:37:31

    Next summer I’m going to have tons of tomatoes and make you all jeaous….like you’re making me this summer…sigh.
    I have lots of green beans….wanna trade?

    Reply

  3. Sue (coffeepot)
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 17:58:28

    Blu z, Atheno part skim. Yes I love summer matoes for sure.

    Katiez I would trade for a bit of beans. While we had beans and I froze and canned I didn’t have as many green beans as I would have liked this year.

    We planted the tomatoes too close and the green beans got shaded out.

    Live and learn.

    Reply

  4. Margaret
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 15:17:13

    Growing your own tomatoes guarantees they will at least taste of ‘tomatoes’. Roasting them as you have done is a wonderful way to use them.

    Reply

  5. JMom
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 16:40:29

    I’m glad I visited your blog today. I was just wondering whether to can or freeze all the tomatoes sitting in my counter. I think I’ll be roasting them instead 🙂 Thanks for the tip on roasting and freezing!

    Reply

  6. Valli
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 13:04:07

    Both of these dishes make me want to get up from my computer chair and stop surfing and have some tasty tomatoes!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

