Bread Salad with Basil, Feta and Marsala Vinaigrette-WHB

roundup link

Since I have been baking so much sourdough, I figured it time to experiment with bread salad.

Katie at Thyme for Cooking is hosting Weekend Herb Blogging this week, so my bread experiment is my entry along with the herb basil.

I am still labor mouse typing so this post is short and sweet.


Bread Salad with Basil, Feta and Marsala Vinaigrette

FOR BREAD
Day old Bread Cubes
olive oil cooking spray
garlic powder
salt
FOR SALAD
tomatoes
red onion
basil
feta cheese
FOR DRESSING
1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
3 tablespoons marsala cooking wine
2 teaspoons honey
salt to taste

method
Make bread
place bread cubes on a cooking sheet and spray with oil. Sprinkle with salt and garlic powder. Place in a 400 degree oven for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.
Chop all salad vegetables and then place the tomato and onion in a large bowl.
Whisk together all dressing ingredients and pour over the tomatoes in bowl.
Toss in your bread cubes and transfer to a serving dish.
Top the salad with the feta and basil. Serve immediately.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kalyn
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 23:48:03

    I love this type of salad. This looks like a great combination. Sorry you are still typing-challenged, but you seem to be doing pretty well without a keyboard!

    Reply

  2. Anh
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 00:01:08

    This salad sounds delicious! I love the color you have there, too.

    Reply

  3. Katiez
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 10:38:42

    I have never been a fan of bread salads, bread puddings, and the like. Yours will convert me! It’s the first I’ve seen that makes me want to dig in right NOW! Maybe it’s the sourdough, whatever, it looks fantastic!

    Reply

  4. Scott
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 21:46:16

    Man can’t live by bread alone, but thrown in basil and feta and I’ll give it a shot. Looks good!

    Reply

  5. bluezebra
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 17:09:43

    Sue this looks so divine!!! I will try it for certain! Hugs and miss you!

    Reply

  6. Coffee & Vanilla
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 04:39:32

    Wow, again salad with feta, I’m sure I would love it.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Weekend Herb Blogging #99 - Thyme for Cooking Kitchen
  8. Trackback: Weekend Herb Blogging #99 - Thyme for Cooking, Blog

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
