Processed Cheese and The Apocalypse

There are times in my life where I look at this box of wires in my
kitchen called a computer and wonder why I don’t toss the thing in
the garbage.

Screen time can be a blessing or a curse depending on the frame of
mind.

Yesterday my mind and screen time became a curse.

The funny thing is how you can read something and it can turn your
mind into a bowl of doubt.

Doom, apocalypse, the end of time.

While these things disturbed my peace for a while yesterday, today
hope springs renewed.

Lam 3:22 It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed,
because his compassions fail not.
Lam 3:23 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness

It isn’t really about what I read, it is about who I trust.

Do I trust more in man’s destructiveness or God’s mercy?

His word tells me that every hair on my
and my family’s head are numbered.

Mat 10:29 Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing?
and one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father.
Mat 10:30 But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.
Mat 10:31 Fear ye not therefore, ye are of more value than many
sparrows.

It doesn’t mean we are not to try to make the world a better place,
it simply means we don’t worry while we do it. Do the best we can
and move on with hope.

Yes, the end of the food chain as we know it, is around the bend.
Apocalypse is knocking at our door, God’s word predicts it all and
fighting against God’s word is like fighting against the tide.

Mat 24:6 And ye shall hear of wars and rumours of wars:
see that ye be not troubled: for all these things must come to pass,
but the end is not yet.
Mat 24:7 For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom
against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences,
and earthquakes, in divers places.
Mat 24:8 All these are the beginning of sorrows.

But the Lord tells us not to be troubled by it all.

While yesterday I let the green tree huggers onto my cursed computer
screen and into my mind, today the power of who I trust prevails.

I move on with hope.

Do I really buy canned processed cheese, or was it sarcastic typing?
I haven’t done it in years.

As I recall, it tasted pretty good at the time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blue zebra
    Sep 13, 2007 @ 12:46:44

    {{Sue}} pobre cita! Not to worry sweety and I’m glad you took comfort and counsel in the Book. At times like this, it IS the place to go for solace. Truly.

    I don’t know if this will help you or not, but a long time ago, I lived in abject fear about this and about the end times. One day, He told me in a soft quiet voice…that I wasn’t to fear any longer. I could do nothing to change it except live my life everyday in pleasing attitude to Him. That indeed each one of us live in our own “end time” for which we don’t know the number of the days, but He does. He numbered our days and purposed us before He made us. So now, I was thinking as I listened to Fox News this morning about Syria and I don’t fear it. What shall come to pass will be but he will protect his flock. Doesn’t mean it will be easy…but we will be protected.

    End of story, end of sermon! Have a triumphant day Sue!

    Reply

  2. Katiez
    Sep 13, 2007 @ 15:38:23

    After a hellish week I chucked it all and went for a bike ride today. Four hours down a lovely tree-lined path through farm country, watching birds, trying to run over leaves with my front wheel, racing mon mari like kids….
    We can’t fix the world but sometimes we can fix us!
    Processed cheese in a can – directly into the mouth, no cracker required…. It’s been years but I remember it fondly….

    Reply

  3. Sue
    Sep 13, 2007 @ 15:54:51

    Thanks Blu and Katie.

    Let us also not forget..

    Mat 6:34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

    Amen and Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

