Hot Sauce

The weekend was full of run here and run there.

We didn’t eat well and my stomach felt it all.

It started out with a water ski and camping trip with friends on Thursday and Friday. Then to my hubby’s 40 year high school reunion near the VA/TN state line on Saturday. We ended it with a motorcycle trip to Mabry Mill on Sunday.


state line overlook


at overlook


hubby


me


Mabry Mill


Ho Down at the Mill


Cutest thing I saw all weekend besides hubby

The junk consumed was phenomenal. I do jest, but it seemed phenomenal to me.

When I finally settled down on Monday, I realized I still had hot peppers coming out the ears that I must do something with. I thought about how hubby had to have hot sauce on every burger, fry, and dog.

It was reasonable to use the peppers and make my own hot sauce.

This is another recipe in my collection that I can not remember where it came from. It turned out well, but was an odd color since I mixed green and red peppers. Sort of a murky green. I ran the sauce through a mesh strainer after I processed it in the blender. Being a jalapeno sauce makes it a bit milder than some but it should be enough hot sauce to do us for a while, I hope.

Jalapeno Hot Sauce

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon vegetable oil
20 fresh jalapeno peppers — sliced
3 cloves garlic — minced
1/2 cup minced onion
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups water
1 cup distilled white vinegar

Directions:
In a medium glass or enamel lined sauce pan over high heat, combine oil, peppers, garlic, onion and salt; saute for 4 minutes. Add the water and cook for 20 minutes, stirring often. Remove from heat and allow mixture to cool to room temperature.
Transfer the mixture to a food processor and puree until smooth. With the processor running, slowly add the vinegar.
Pour into a sterilized jar with a tight lid. This sauce will keep for 6 months when stored in the refrigerator.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katiez
    Sep 25, 2007 @ 15:28:34

    Looks like a fun weekend! Such lovely peppers…but, I’m afraid, too hot for me. Mon mari would love it, though..on every burger, dog, whatever…

    Reply

  2. blue zebra
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 11:54:13

    Wow! What an action packed weekend. 😀 Glad you had a blast. You and hubby are sure cuties! And love the looks of the hot sauce! Is it kinda like a jalapeno tobasco sauce?

    Hope you are doing well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

