Gazpacho Chopped Salad

While we had about 4 days of cooler weather it has now warmed back up into the 80’s.

I feel like salads.

This is a gazpacho salad that is a typical version you might find in the Andalusain province of Jaen.

I used to think all gazpacho was soup. This salad came from an article in Gourmet magazine, August 2002 on several gazpachos. It had the regular, white ( Ajo Blanco), Lima ( I can’t wait to try that one), and even an aspic.

While I subbed ham for the prosciutto, I can’t wait to try it in the original form.
It will have to wait until I go grocery shopping in a couple of weeks. Boo hooey!

If you want to make it more like in Spain you would break out your mortar and pestle, but while I own one it is too time consuming for my tastes.

Pipirrana Jaenera
or Gazpacho Chopped Salad- serves 4

1 ” piece baguette, soaked in water and drained well
2 garlic cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 hard boiled eggs, white and yolk separated
2 tablespoons sherry vinegar ( I just used a wine vinegar)
1/4 cup EVOO
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 pound ripe tomatoes, dice
1 medium bell pepper, small dice
2 ounces prosciutto, diced ( I just used sliced ham)

Put your bread, garlic, salt vinegar and egg yolk into a blender and blend to smooth while pouring EVOO into the shoot.

Chop all veggies and egg white.

Scoop the egg mixture onto salad plates then cover with egg white. Top that with the tomato then the bell pepper and prosciutto.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chefjp
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 06:39:19

    Wonderful recipe. I like the array of flavors you have working in this dish. Thanks! chefjp

    Reply

  2. Katiez
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 15:37:25

    That’s a lovely salad!
    We stayed in a castle (big family group) in a little village just outside of Jaen for the faux Millenium… Lovely city with a great cathedral. And a somewhat interesting hospital, but that’s another story…

    Reply

  3. Sue
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 17:14:59

    Thanks chefjp and katiez.

    How wonderful to stay in a Jaen castle katiez. Would love to hear more.

    Reply

  4. jancd
    Sep 28, 2007 @ 08:50:17

    I am so uncool, for I do not understand the recipe and it is disturbing to me. What happens to the baguette? Does it become part of the dressing. It the whole bread part “gooey?” Please explain to this Texan.

    Reply

  5. Sue
    Sep 28, 2007 @ 09:20:07

    Yes jancd the baguette becomes part of the egg mixture on the bottom which is sort of like the dressing upside down.

    It was very good but gave me the biggest case of heartburn I think I have ever experienced the very night I posted.

    Thanks for the heartburn Gourmet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

8 years

8 years

8 years

More Photos
