Potato Gratin with Sage- WHB

roundup link

The weather has taken on a fall air in our parts.
The temps are hovering around the upper 60’s days
and into the 40’s and 30’s nights.

There is nothing more satisfying for me than cooler outdoor
temperatures and wonderful smells coming from the oven indoors.

For this reason I have chosen to feature a potato gratin for the
Two Year Celebration of Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by
Kalyn’s Kitchen.
Two years of fun and tastey information is certainly worth a celebration.

The vegetable in my dish is the versatile potato and the herb sage.
Two things very easy to grow with a bit of land and some elbow grease.

Potato gratins are great with many different herbs so experiment to your liking.

I love sage anytime but for some reason the smell of sage, onion, and potato coming from an oven
just seems so…fall….y.

So on with the dish.

Potato Gratin with Sage

Double layer a greased deep dish pie pan with..

potato (about 8 small to medium thinly sliced)
mild cheddar cheese (about 4-5 ounces diced or shredded)
onion (about 1/2 medium chopped)
sage (about 2 tablespoons fine chopped)
salt ( about 1 tablespoon)
pepper (couple dashes)
flour (about 1/4 cup)
then..
pour milk all over the top until it is covered ( about 1 1/2 cups or enough to cover)
dot the top with butter (about 3 tablespoons)
Bake this in a 375 degree oven for about an hour or until the liquid evaporates and the top is bubbly and browned.

Enjoy, and then head on over to Kalyn’s for the two year roundup of Weekend Herb Blogging.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Coffee & Vanilla
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 04:31:21

    Beautiful dish! I love potatos this way but I have never tried it with sage, only with nutmeg and onion.

    Greetings from London, Margot

    Reply

  2. Kalyn
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 09:40:21

    Yum. This sounds like something my grandmother Denny might have made. She was a huge fan of sage. I can imagine that the sage complements the flavor of the potatoes perfectly! Thanks for helping celebrate the two year anniversary!

    Reply

  3. Katiez
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 10:59:52

    Gorgeous gratin! I love sage with potatoes…and cheese. For some bizarre reason I can not grow sage here. It grows, gets big and lovely looking then turns yellow and dies. I’m getting quite put out with the gardening gods….

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 11:09:16

    Thinking about this potato gratin immediately made my stomach growl. Perfect for cooler fall weather!

    Reply

  5. JanCD
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 22:28:45

    The sage added does would good. How much would you use if you did not have fresh sage? Would you even bother to use dried sage?

    Reply

  6. Caffienated Cowgirl
    Oct 14, 2007 @ 07:48:30

    Okay, that looks delightful…my hubby would love it!

    Reply

  7. sue
    Oct 14, 2007 @ 12:04:08

    Margot, Kalyn, Katiez,Becky, Jancd and cowgirl thanks for the nice comments.

    Katiez that is what happens to mine when I bring it indoors so maybe it isn’t getting enough sunlight? I always dig a plant up in the fall and place it in my sunroom. They always make it to spring but the leaves begin to yellow and fall off.

    JanCD I have heard to about half for dried herbs, but I don’t know about sage because I don’t use dried. My sister used dried in some shortbread last winter and it tasted good but I don’t think she even lowered the measure? Not sure.

    Reply

  8. Lisa
    Oct 14, 2007 @ 13:16:19

    That looks great. I must try it ASAP; my sage plant is still going, big time. I, too, love the smell of it, especially in combination with onions and potatoes. Thanks for the good idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Flickr Photos

